Milton Keynes

A review of the number of councillors, wards and ward names for Milton Keynes City Council
Currently in review

Latest Information

Initial consultation

We ask local people and organisations to tell us about their communities.

Dates: 7 May 2024 - 15 Jul 2024

Previous stages

We decide how many councillors an authority should have.

Dates: 30 Apr 2024 - 30 Apr 2024

New arrangements apply to elections after this date.

Dates: 8 Jan 2014

Our recommendations for new electoral and boundary arrangements.

Dates: 25 Jun 2013

have your say

Give us your views

We want to hear from you.

The views of local people and organisations help shape our proposals and recommendations.

Just tell us what you think and why you think that

We review the electoral and boundary arrangements of councils to make sure they are fair. Our reviews include at least two rounds of public consultation before we make recommendations for change. 

April 2024 We decide how many councillors there should be
7 May - TBD We carry out an initial public consultation on communities
TBD We carry out a public consultation on our proposals
TBD We publish our recommendation
TBD We ask Parliament to approve our recommendations
May 2026 New arrangements apply to local elections

 

The current consultation period is being extended due to the General Election. A full revised timetable will be published on this web page in due course.

Register for Updates

Sign up to receive updates about this review

For more information about how we collect and use your information you can access our privacy policy.

Latest Information

Initial consultation

We ask local people and organisations to tell us about their communities.

Previous stages

Councillor numbers

The first stage of this electoral review is to determine the number of councillors who should represent the local authority in the future.

Effective date

The Milton Keynes (Electoral Changes) Order 2014 was made on 8 January 2014.

Officers within the council will now make sure the new arrangements are in place for elections held in May 2014.

Final report

Our recommendations for new electoral and boundary arrangements were published on 25 June 2013.

Previous Reviews

Most recent and previous reviews are held on the UK Government Web Archive.

Share this page: