New political map for Southampton City Council

Also in this section

LGBCE - Have your say

See all reviews

All reviews, ongoing and complete. You can search, sort and filter. 

Southampton is set to have new boundaries for its council wards.


New wards for Southampton
Click map for high resolution version
Credit: contains Ordnance Survey data (c) Crown copyright and database rights 2023


The Local Government Boundary Commission is the independent body that draws these boundaries. It has reviewed Southampton to make sure councillors will represent about the same number of electors, and that ward arrangements will help the council work effectively.

The Commission has published final recommendations for changes in Southampton. It says residents should be represented by 51 councillors. This is an increase of three from the current arrangements.

There will be 17 three-councillor wards, one more than there is now. The boundaries of most wards should change. Coxford and Shirley wards will stay the same. 

Publishing the recommendations Professor Colin Mellors, Chair of the Commission, said:

“We are very grateful to people in Southampton. We looked at all the views they gave us. They helped us improve our earlier proposals.

 “We believe the new arrangements will deliver electoral fairness while maintaining local ties.” 

249 people and organisations made comments to help decide the new wards. Changes in response to what local people said include: 

  • Renaming Bargate North ward to Banister & Polygon, Bargate South ward to Bargate, and Bitterne ward to Thornhill
  • Making minor changes to the wards in the city centre area, to the boundary between Bevois and Portswood wards, Swaythling and Bassett wards, Harefield and Bitterne Park wards and Peartree and Sholing wards.

The Commission has made further changes to its earlier proposals. Details can be found on its website.

The changes become law once Parliament has approved them. Staff at the council will ensure that the arrangements are in place for the 2023 elections.



Notes to editors: 

This consultation relates to the arrangements for local government elections. It is separate from consultations that are currently taking place across England on arrangements for parliamentary elections.

For further information contact the Commission’s press office on 0330 500 1525 / 1250 or email

An interactive map is available here.

The Local Government Boundary Commission for England is an independent body accountable to Parliament. It recommends fair electoral and boundary arrangements for local authorities in England. In doing so, it aims to:

  • Make sure that, within an authority, each councillor represents a similar number of electors
  • Reflect the electoral cycle so that each ward is represented by three councillors
  • Create boundaries that are appropriate, and reflect community ties and identities
  • Deliver reviews informed by local needs, views and circumstances
  • This does not effect the Bitterne By-Election on 1 December 2022
LGBCE - Have your say

See all reviews

All reviews, ongoing and complete. You can search, sort and filter.