New political map for Sefton Council

Also in this section

LGBCE - Have your say

See all reviews

All reviews, ongoing and complete. You can search, sort and filter. 

Sefton Council is set to have new boundaries for its council wards. 

Sefton - FR - No Labels Map

Proposed wards for Sefton Council

Credit: contains Ordnance Survey data (c) Crown copyright and database rights 2024

High resolution map available at


The Local Government Boundary Commission is the independent body that draws these boundaries. It has reviewed Sefton to make sure councillors will represent about the same number of electors, and that ward arrangements will help the council work effectively. 

The Commission has published final recommendations for changes in Sefton. It says residents should be represented by 66 councillors, the same as now. 

There will be 22 wards with three councillors per ward. Most ward boundaries will change. Three wards will be unchanged, while one ward will have the same boundaries, but will change name (Molyneux ward will become Aintree & Maghull South).


Publishing the recommendations Professor Colin Mellors, Chair of the Commission, said:

“We are very grateful to people in Sefton. We looked at all the views they gave us. They helped us improve our earlier proposals. 

We believe the new arrangements will deliver electoral fairness while maintaining local ties.” 


We received 55 submissions from people and organisations to help decide the new wards. Changes in response to what local people said include: 

  • Several ward name changes in the Bootle, Crosby and Formby areas 
  • Minor boundary modifications in Southport 

The Commission has made further changes to its earlier proposals. Details can be found on its website at

The changes become law once Parliament has approved them. Staff at the council will ensure that the arrangements are in place for the 2026 elections. 




Notes to editors: 

For further information contact the Commission’s press office on 0330 500 1525 / 1250 or email 

An interactive map is available at

The Local Government Boundary Commission for England is an independent body accountable to Parliament. It recommends fair electoral and boundary arrangements for local authorities in England. In doing so, it aims to:

  • Make sure that, within an authority, each councillor represents a similar number of electors

  • Reflect the electoral cycle so that each ward is represented by three councillors

  • Create boundaries that are appropriate, and reflect community ties and identities

  • Deliver reviews informed by local needs, views and circumstances

LGBCE - Have your say

See all reviews

All reviews, ongoing and complete. You can search, sort and filter.