Vale of White Horse

A review of the number of councillors, wards and ward names for Vale of White Horse District Council
Currently in review

Latest Information

Consultation on proposals

We consult with local people and organisations to help us refine our proposals.

Dates: 9 Jul 2024 - 16 Sep 2024

Previous stages

We ask local people and organisations to tell us about their communities.

Dates: 9 Jan 2024 - 22 Mar 2024

New arrangements apply to elections after this date.

Dates: 8 Jan 2014 - 8 Jan 2014

Our recommendations for new electoral and boundary arrangements.

Dates: 25 Mar 2013 - 25 Mar 2013

have your say

Give us your views

We want to hear from you.

The views of local people and organisations help shape our proposals and recommendations.

Just tell us what you think and why you think that

We review the electoral and boundary arrangements of councils to make sure they are fair. Our reviews include at least two rounds of public consultation before we make recommendations for change. 

 

12 December 2023 We decide how many councillors there should be
9 January 2024 - 22 March 2024 We carry out an initial public consultation on communities
TBD We carry out a public consultation on our proposals
TBD We publish our recommendations
TBD We ask Parliament to approve our recommendations
TBD New arrangements apply to local elections

Publication of Draft Recommendations has been delayed due to the General Election, and will be published after the election. A full revised timetable will be updated on this web page in due course.

Register for Updates

Sign up to receive updates about this review

For more information about how we collect and use your information you can access our privacy policy.

Latest Information

Consultation on proposals

We have proposed a new pattern of wards. We want to hear the views of local people and organisations to help us produce our recommendations for change. 

As a result of our draft recommendations on new warding patterns, we are making changes to the electoral arrangements for the following parish/town councils:

Previous stages

Initial consultation

We ask local people and organisations to tell us about their communities. 

Please note - We identified a misattribution of forecast electors in Vale of White Horse, based on outdated polling district boundaries. We updated 2029 figures for polling districts SGA, XAD2, and XAE2 on 19 January to reflect the correct figures.

Local views given during our initial consultation

You can see comments received from local people and organisations about their communities.

Effective date

The Vale of White Horse (Electoral Changes) Order 2014 was made on 8 January 2014.

The new arrangements came into effect at the May 2015 elections.

Final report

Our recommendations for new electoral and boundary arrangements were published on 25 March 2013.

Previous Reviews

Most recent and previous reviews are held on the UK Government Web Archive.

Share this page: