Solihull

A review of the number of councillors, wards and ward names for Solihull Metropolitan Borough Council
Currently in review

Latest Information

Consultation on proposals

We consult with local people and organisations to help us refine our proposals.

Dates: 30 Jan 2024 - 12 Jul 2024

Previous stages

We ask local people and organisations to tell us about their communities.

Dates: 22 Aug 2023 - 30 Oct 2023

We decide how many councillors an authority should have.

Dates: 15 Aug 2023

New arrangements apply to elections after this date.

Dates: 29 Sep 2003

Our recommendations for new electoral and boundary arrangements.

Dates: 13 May 2003

have your say

Give us your views

We want to hear from you.

The views of local people and organisations help shape our proposals and recommendations.

Just tell us what you think and why you think that

We review the electoral and boundary arrangements of councils to make sure they are fair. Our reviews include at least two rounds of public consultation before we make recommendations for change. 

We are carrying out an electoral review of Solihull because it has been a long time since the last review.  

15 August 2023 We decide how many councillors there should be
22 August - 30 October 2023 We carry out an initial public consultation on communities
30 January - TBD We carry out a public consultation on our proposals
TBD We publish our recommendations
TBD We ask Parliament to approve our recommendations
May 2026 New arrangements apply to local elections

 

The current consultation period is being extended due to the General Election. A full revised timetable will be published on this web page in due course.

Visit our 'How reviews work' pages for more information on the review process.  

Register for Updates

Sign up to receive updates about this review

For more information about how we collect and use your information you can access our privacy policy.

Latest Information

Consultation on proposals

We have proposed a new pattern of wards. We want to hear the views of local people and organisations to help us produce our recommendations for change. 

We are recommending changes to the parish electoral arrangements for the following parish/town councils.

Previous stages

Initial consultation

We ask local people and organisations to tell us about their communities.

Local views given during our initial consultation

You can see comments received from local people and organisations about their communities.

Councillor numbers

We have decided that Solihull Metropolitan Borough Council should have 51 councillors.

Submissions received on council size are below.

Effective date

The Borough of Solihull (Electoral Changes) Order 2003 was made on 29 September 2003

Final report

Our recommendations for new electoral and boundary arrangements were published on 13 May 2003

Previous Reviews

Most recent and previous reviews are held on the UK Government Web Archive.

Share this page: