Derbyshire

A review of the number of councillors, electoral divisions and electoral division names for Derbyshire County Council
Currently in review

Latest Information

Consultation on proposals

We consult with local people and organisations to help us refine our proposals.

Dates: 23 Jan 2024 - 1 Apr 2024

Previous stages

We ask local people and organisations to tell us about their communities.

Dates: 9 May 2023 - 17 Jul 2023

We decide how many councillors an authority should have.

Dates: 21 Mar 2023 - 21 Mar 2023

have your say

Give us your views

We want to hear from you.

The views of local people and organisations help shape our proposals and recommendations.

Just tell us what you think and why you think that

We review the electoral and boundary arrangements of councils to make sure they are fair. Our reviews include at least two rounds of public consultation before we make recommendations for change.

We are carrying out an electoral review of Derbyshire because it has been a long time since the last review.

21 March 2023  We decide how many councillors there should be
9 May 2023 - 17 July 2023 We carry out an initial public consultation on communities
23 January 2024 - 1 April 2024 We carry out a public consultation on our proposals
2 July 2024 We publish our recommendations
TBC We ask Parliament to approve our recommendations
May 2025 New arrangements apply to local elections

 

Visit our 'How reviews work' pages for more information on the review process.  

 

Register for Updates

Sign up to receive updates about this review

For more information about how we collect and use your information you can access our privacy policy.

Latest Information

Consultation on proposals

We have proposed a new pattern of divisions. We want to hear the views of local people and organisations to help us produce our recommendations for change. 

Previous stages

Initial consultation

We ask local people and organisations to tell us about their communities.

*We have updated the spreadsheet to remove the descriptions in column C which were erroneous. We done this for this for clarity. Please note that the polling district data and electorate figures have not changed and that these are consistent with the ward boundaries prior to the 2023 elections in Amber Valley, Chesterfield and Derbyshire Dales. This is due to the timing of when the forecasts were produced. Column E (the parish warding column) relies on information from the Council and is incomplete. This will not affect our recommendations for Derbyshire, since we create new parish wards if we divide a parish with a new division boundary. 

Local views given during our initial consultation

You can see comments received from local people and organisations about their communities.

Councillor numbers

Decision on the number of councillors

We have decided that Derbyshire County Council should have 64 councillors.

Previous Reviews

Previous reviews are held on the UK Government Web Archive

Share this page: