Share On:

Local electoral arrangements for Derbyshire finalised

22nd August 2012

Local electoral arrangements for Derbyshire finalised


The independent Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) has published its final recommendations for new electoral arrangements for Derbyshire County Council.

Today’s publication follows a ten week public consultation on its draft proposals and draws new boundaries for each electoral division in Derbyshire.

The Commission’s final recommendations propose that Derbyshire’s 64 county councillors should represent 58 single-member divisions and three two-member divisions.

The Commission’s final report makes some changes to its draft proposals as a result of the feedback gathered from local people and organisations.

Max Caller, Chair of the Commission, said, “We’re extremely grateful to the people of Derbyshire who took the time and effort to send us their views. The Commission considered every piece of evidence it received before finalising these recommendations.

“In response to the views submitted to us during the consultation, we are proposing a few changes to the recommendations we put forward in April.

“For example, we are now proposing that the village of Waingroves in Amber Valley Borough should be part of the Ripley East and Codnor division rather than split between divisions as we previously recommended. We were persuaded by the evidence put to us that there are strong community ties between Waingroves and Ripley.

“In North East Derbyshire, local people and groups objected to our initial recommendation to split the community of Eckington between two electoral divisions. We’ve listened to their feedback and now propose that there should be an Eckington and Killamarsh division represented by two county councillors. Our final recommendation avoids splitting Eckington and better reflects the shape of local communities in that part of the county.

“Elsewhere in Derbyshire, we have taken on board views expressed to us during consultation and altered the draft recommendations we published a few months ago. That’s why we are proposing to change some of the names of the electoral divisions we put forward previously and we’ve made a number of other alterations to division boundaries based on the feedback we received.

“Across Derbyshire, we have sought to balance the views expressed to us by local people with the criteria we must apply when we are deciding on new electoral arrangements, namely to deliver electoral equality for voters as well as reflecting the interests of communities across the county and promoting effective local government.”

The proposed new arrangements must now be implemented by Parliament. A draft order – the legal document which brings into force the recommendations – will be laid in Parliament in the next few months. The draft Order provides for the new electoral arrangements to come into force at the county council elections in 2013.


For further information contact the Commission’s press office on: 0207 664 8530/8534 or email:[email protected]

Notes to editors:

1. The Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) is responsible for reviewing local authority electoral arrangements, e.g. defining boundaries for local elections and the number of councillors to be elected and – separately - for conducting reviews of local government external boundaries and structure.

2. Full details of the Commission’s final recommendations (including maps) can be viewed at /all-reviews/east-midlands/derbyshire/derbyshire-electoral-review.

3. The electoral review of Derbyshire County Council is a separate undertaking from the current review of parliamentary constituency boundaries which is being carried out by a separate body (Boundary Commission for England) under different rules and legislation.