Share On:

Local electoral arrangements finalised for Warwickshire County Council

17th February 2015

Embargoed until 00:01 on 17 February 2015


The independent Local Government Boundary Commission for England has published its final recommendations for new electoral arrangements for Warwickshire County Council.


Today’s publication follows an eight-week public consultation on its draft proposals and draws new boundaries for each county electoral division across Warwickshire.


The Commission’s final recommendations propose that Warwickshire should be represented by 57 county councillors in the future: five fewer than the current arrangement. The recommendations also propose that those councillors should represent 57 single-member electoral divisions across the county.


Max Caller, Chair of the Commission, said, “We are extremely grateful to people across Warwickshire who took the time and effort to send us their views. The Commission considered every piece of evidence it received before finalising these recommendations.


“Across the county, we have sought to balance the views expressed to us by local people with the criteria we must apply when we are deciding on new electoral arrangements. As such, we believe these recommendations deliver electoral equality for voters as well as reflecting the identities of communities in Warwickshire.”


In response to representations made to it on the draft recommendations, the Commission has made changes to the draft proposals it originally put forward for consultation in September 2014. For example, in Nuneaton & Bedworth borough, the Commission has decided to include the area around Bedworth Sloughs nature reserve in the Bedworth North division as a better reflection of local community identities.


In Rugby, the Commission proposes to alter its draft recommendations to include the Newbold on Avon area in Fosse division rather than dividing it between electoral divisions as previously proposed. Similarly, the Commission has also changed its draft recommendations so that New Bilton is wholly included in a New BIlton & Overslade division. The modified electoral division would sit alongside a Benn division which includes the town centre and residential areas to the North of it.


In Stratford-on-Avon district, feedback during consultation on the draft recommendations objected to proposed division boundaries which split communities to the south of the river. As a result, the Commission has amended its recommendations to unite communities to the south of the river and Stratford Old Town in a single division.


Elsewhere, the Commission has made changes to its recommendations to reflect forthcoming amendments to parish council boundaries so that electoral divisions and parishes are consistent.


Full details of the final recommendations are available on the Commission’s website at


The proposed new arrangements must now be implemented by Parliament. A draft order – the legal document which brings into force the recommendations – will be laid in Parliament in the coming months. The draft Order provides for the new electoral arrangements to come into force at the county council elections in 2017.




For further information contact the Commission’s press office on: 0207 664 8530/8534 or email: [email protected]


Notes to editors:


  1. The Local Government Boundary Commission for England is responsible for reviewing local authority electoral arrangements, e.g. defining boundaries for local elections and the number of councillors to be elected and – separately - for conducting reviews of local government external boundaries and structure.


  1. Full details of the Commission’s final recommendations (including maps) can be viewed at: /current-reviews/west-midlands/warwickshire/warwickshire-county-council