Share On:

Local electoral arrangements finalised for South Ribble Borough Council

25th March 2014

The independent Local Government Boundary Commission for England has published its final recommendations for new electoral arrangements for South Ribble Borough Council.

Today’s publication follows a twelve-week public consultation on its draft proposals and draws new boundaries for each council ward across the borough.

The Commission’s final recommendations propose that South Ribble should be represented by 50 councillors in the future: five fewer than the current arrangements. The recommendations also propose that those councillors should represent four three-member wards and nineteen two-member wards across the borough.

Max Caller, Chair of the Commission, said, “We are extremely grateful to the people of South Ribble who took the time and effort to send us their views. The Commission considered every piece of evidence it received before finalising these recommendations.

“We have sought to balance the views expressed to us by local people with the criteria we must apply when we are deciding on new electoral arrangements. As such, we believe these recommendations deliver electoral equality for voters as well as reflecting the identities of communities across the borough.”

In response to views expressed by local people and organisations, the Commission has made changes to some of the recommendations it put forward for consultation last year. For example, the Commission has agreed to change its draft recommendations in Walton-le-Dale, Bamber Bridge, Farington and Leyland to improve electoral equality for voters, to take into account proposed housing development and to deliver identifiable boundaries.

In addition, and in response to local views, the Commission also proposes to change three of the ward names it put forward for consultation. As a result, the names put forward at the draft recommendations stage of Bannister Brook, Turpin Green and Wade Hall now become Leyland Central, St Ambrose and Seven Stars respectively.

The proposed new arrangements must now be implemented by Parliament. A draft order – the legal document which brings into force the recommendations – will be laid in Parliament in the coming months. The draft Order provides for the new electoral arrangements to come into force at the council elections in 2015.


For further information contact the Commission’s press office on: 0207 664 8530/8534 or email: [email protected]

Notes to editors:

  1. The Local Government Boundary Commission for England is responsible for reviewing local authority electoral arrangements, e.g. defining boundaries for local elections and the number of councillors to be elected and – separately - for conducting reviews of local government external boundaries and structure.
  1. Full details of the Commission’s final recommendations (including maps) can be viewed at /all-reviews/north-west/lancashire/south-ribble-fer.

or at