Share On:

Local electoral arrangements finalised for Leicestershire County Council

5th April 2016
The independent Local Government Boundary Commission for England has published its final recommendations for new electoral arrangements for Leicestershire County Council.

Today’s publication a phase of public consultation last year on its draft proposals and draws new boundaries for each county electoral division across Leicestershire.

The Commission’s final recommendations propose that Leicestershire should be represented by 55 county councillors in the future: the same as the current arrangement. The recommendations also propose that those councillors should represent 51 single-member electoral divisions and two two-member electoral divisions across the county.

Professor Colin Mellors, Chair of the Commission, said, “We are extremely grateful to people across Leicestershire who took the time and effort to send us their views. The Commission considered every piece of evidence it received before finalising these recommendations.

“Across the county, we have sought to balance the views expressed to us by local people with the criteria we must apply when we are deciding on new electoral arrangements. As such, we believe these recommendations deliver electoral equality for voters as well as reflecting the identities of communities in Leicestershire.”

In response to representations made to it on the draft recommendations, the Commission has made changes to the draft proposals it originally put forward for consultation. For example, in Charnwood borough, the Commission has changed its original proposal to divide the southern part of Syston parish between Syston Ridgeway and Thurmaston Ridgemere divisions. In light of local feedback, the Commission now proposes that Syston should not be divided in this way and the southern part of the parish should be included in the Syston Ridgeway division.

The Commission has also altered its recommendations so that the whole of Sileby parish will be part of Sileby & The Wolds division. The Commission’s draft recommendations had proposed to divide the parish between Sileby & The Wolds division and Syston & Ridgeway division. The Commission was persuaded to make the change in response to local feedback about community ties in this part of the county.

In North West Leicestershire, the Commission heard during its consultation that the Limes ward part of Ravenstone with Snibston parish should be part of the Coalville North division rather than Ibstock & Appleby. The new proposal would provide a clear and recognisable boundary.

In Oadby and Wigston, the Commission has listened to local views and made several changes to its recommendations. In particular, the proposals now propose to unite the whole of Oadby in one electoral division which will be represented by two county councillors. The previous proposals had divided the town between two divisions.

The Commission has also altered its proposed boundaries for the three divisions covering Wigston.

The Commission’s confirms the rest of its draft recommendations as final.

Full details of the final recommendations are available on the Commission’s website at

The proposed new arrangements must now be implemented by Parliament. A draft order – the legal document which brings into force the recommendations – will be laid in Parliament in the coming months. The draft Order provides for the new electoral arrangements to come into force at the county council elections in 2017.


For further information contact the Commission’s press office on: 0330 500 1250 / 1525 or email: [email protected]

Notes to editors:

  1. The Local Government Boundary Commission for England is responsible for reviewing local authority electoral arrangements, e.g. defining boundaries for local elections and the number of councillors to be elected and – separately - for conducting reviews of local government external boundaries and structure.
  2. Full details of the Commission’s final recommendations (including maps) can be viewed at: /current-reviews/east-midlands/leicestershire/leicestershire-county-council or: