Share On:

Local electoral arrangements finalised for Leicester City Council

12th August 2014

The independent Local Government Boundary Commission for England has published its final recommendations for new electoral arrangements for Leicester City Council.

Today’s publication follows a ten-week public consultation on its draft proposals and draws new boundaries for each council ward across the city.

The Commission’s final recommendations propose that Leicester should continue to be represented by 54 councillors in the future. The recommendations also propose that those councillors should represent nine two-member wards and twelve three-member wards across the city.

Max Caller, Chair of the Commission, said, “We are extremely grateful to people across Leicester who took the time and effort to send us their views. The Commission considered every piece of evidence it received before finalising these recommendations.

“Across the city, we have sought to balance the views expressed to us by local people with the criteria we must apply when we are deciding on new electoral arrangements. As such, we believe these recommendations deliver electoral equality for voters as well as reflecting the identities of communities across Leicester.”

In light of feedback received during the public consultation, the Commission proposes to alter some of the recommendations it put forward in March. For example, in the south of the city, the Commission has decided that communities in Aylestone village and Aylestone Park should be part of the same two-member ward. The Commission’s previous recommendations had divided the two areas between separate council wards. Alongside the two-member Aylestone ward, the Commission also proposes a two-member Eyres Monsell ward, which would have the same boundary as the current arrangement, and a two-member Saffron ward.

Elsewhere in Leicester, and in response to local views, the Commission has changed its draft recommendations so that residents and businesses in Allandale Road and Francis Street will be part of the Knighton ward rather than Stoneygate ward as previously put forward.

Other changes to the Commission’s draft proposals include an amendment to the boundary of the Beaumont Leys ward so that it includes the grounds of the English Martyrs School as well as the school itself. The Commission has also responded to submissions made during consultation which proposed to change the names of some wards included in the draft recommendations. As such, the Green Lane ward becomes North Evington ward and Braunstone & Rowley Fields ward is renamed Braunstone Park & Rowley Fields ward.

The proposed new arrangements must now be implemented by Parliament. A draft order – the legal document which brings into force the recommendations – will be laid in Parliament in the coming months. The draft Order provides for the new electoral arrangements to come into force at the council elections in 2015.


For further information contact the Commission’s press office on: 0207 664 8530/8534 or email: [email protected]

Notes to editors:

  1. The Local Government Boundary Commission for England is responsible for reviewing local authority electoral arrangements, e.g. defining boundaries for local elections and the number of councillors to be elected and – separately - for conducting reviews of local government external boundaries and structure.
  2. Full details of the Commission’s final recommendations (including maps) can be viewed at /current-reviews/east-midlands/leicestershire/leicester-fer