Share On:

Local electoral arrangements finalised for Lancashire County Council

5th April 2016

The independent Local Government Boundary Commission for England has published its final recommendations for new electoral arrangements for Lancashire County Council.

Today’s publication a phase of public consultation last year on its draft proposals and draws new boundaries for each county electoral division across Lancashire.

The Commission’s final recommendations propose that Lancashire should be represented by 84 county councillors in the future: the same as the current arrangement. The recommendations also propose that those councillors should represent 80 single-member electoral divisions and two two-member electoral divisions across the county.

Professor Colin Mellors, Chair of the Commission, said, “We are extremely grateful to people across Lancashire who took the time and effort to send us their views. The Commission considered every piece of evidence it received before finalising these recommendations.

“Across the county, we have sought to balance the views expressed to us by local people with the criteria we must apply when we are deciding on new electoral arrangements. As such, we believe these recommendations deliver electoral equality for voters as well as reflecting the identities of communities in Lancashire.”

In response to representations made to it on the draft recommendations, the Commission has made changes to the proposals it originally put forward for consultation. For example, in Pendle, the Commission has listened to local views and has changed its proposed boundary between Brierfield & Nelson West and Pendle Hill electoral divisions to provide a better reflection of community ties.

In Wyre, the Commission has changed its recommendations so that the parish of Nateby is included in the Wyre Rural East division rather than Wyre Rural Central division as previously put forward. The change means that the town of Garstang will now not be divided between electoral divisions.

As a result of local evidence received in consultation form local people and groups in Wyre during consultation, the Commission also now proposes that the parish of Myerscough & Bilsborrow should be part of the Wyre Rural East division as this arrangement better reflects the shape of local communities.

For Chorley, the Commission has amended its draft proposals, in light of responses to consultation, and will ensure that the parish of Coppull is not divided between divisions as previously recommended.

In Fylde, the Commission had proposed to divide the parish of Newton-with-Clifton parish between two electoral divisions. However, as a result of evidence put to it during consultation, the Commission now proposes that the whole parish should be part of the Fylde East division.

In Ribble Valley, the Commission’s draft recommendations had proposed to divide the parishes of Aighton, Bailey & Chaigley and Grindleton between divisions. After listening to local views, the Commission now recommends that both parishes should be wholly contained within the divisions of Ribble Valley North East and Ribble Valley South respectively.

In Rossendale, the Commission has responded to local feedback in three areas following consideration of representations made to it during consultation. It has altered the boundary it originally proposed between Rossendale South and Rossendale West divisions so that it will now follow Manchester Road: a more locally recognisable boundary. Similarly, the Commission proposes to amend its proposed boundary between Rossendale South and Rossendale North divisions so that the divisions are a better reflection of local community interests and identities. And the Commission’s final recommendations propose that the whole of the Edenfield area should be part of the Rossendale South division rather than divided between divisions as previously proposed.

During consultation, local people and organisations also put forward alternative names for some of the Commission’s proposed divisions. The Commission has listened to those views and made changes in three places: Euxton with Buckshaw division becomes Euxton, Buckshaw & Astley division, Whitworth division becomes Whitworth & Bacup and Rossendale North division becomes Mid Rossendale.  

The Commission’s confirms the rest of its draft recommendations as final. 

Full details of the final recommendations are available on the Commission’s website at

The proposed new arrangements must now be implemented by Parliament. A draft order – the legal document which brings into force the recommendations – will be laid in Parliament in the coming months. The draft Order provides for the new electoral arrangements to come into force at the county council elections in 2017.


For further information contact the Commission’s press office on: 0330 500 1250 / 1525 or email: [email protected]

Notes to editors:

  1. The Local Government Boundary Commission for England is responsible for reviewing local authority electoral arrangements, e.g. defining boundaries for local elections and the number of councillors to be elected and – separately - for conducting reviews of local government external boundaries and structure.
  1. Full details of the Commission’s final recommendations (including maps) can be viewed at: /current-reviews/north-west/lancashire/lancashire-county-council