Share On:

Local electoral arrangements finalised for Forest of Dean District Council

16th January 2018

The independent Local Government Boundary Commission for England has published its final recommendations for new electoral arrangements for Forest of Dean District Council.

 Forest of Dean Summary Map

Illustrate your story with a map of the new ward boundaries. Find a high res image at:

Credit: contains Ordnance Survey data (c) Crown copyright and database rights 2018


Today’s publication follows public consultation on its draft proposals last year and draws new boundaries for each council ward across Forest of Dean.


The Commission’s final recommendations propose that Forest of Dean should be represented by 38 district councillors in the future: ten fewer than the current arrangement. The recommendations also propose that those councillors should represent five three-councillor wards, seven two-councillor wards and nine one-councillor wards across the district.


Professor Colin Mellors, Chair of the Commission, said, “We are extremely grateful to people across Forest of Dean who took part in the review. The Commission has looked at all the evidence that was put forward during the consultation.


“We believe these recommendations deliver electoral fairness for voters as well as reflecting community ties throughout Forest of Dean.”


In response to local feedback during consultation, the Commission has changed the names of three of the wards it proposed in August 2017. As such, the proposed Awre ward is renamed Newnham ward as part of the final recommendations, Mitcheldean & Drybrook ward becomes Mitcheldean, Ruardean & Drybrook and Newent ward becomes Newent & Taynton. The Commission the names better reflect local community ties in Forest of Dean.


Full details of the final recommendations are available on the Commission’s website at


The proposed new arrangements must now be implemented by Parliament. A draft Order – the legal document which brings into force the recommendations – will be laid in Parliament in the coming months. The draft Order provides for the new electoral arrangements to come into force at the council elections in 2019.




For further information contact the Commission’s press office on: 0330 500 1525 / 1250 or email: [email protected]


Notes to editors:


  1. Key to map over page:

1.    Berry Hill

2.    Bream

3.    Cinderford East

4.    Cinderford West

5.    Coleford

6.    Dymock

7.    Hartpury & Redmarley

8.    Longhope & Huntley

9.    Lydbrook

10. Lydney East

11. Lydney North

12. Lydney West & Aylburton

13. Mitcheldean, Ruardean & Drybrook

14. Newent & Taynton

15. Newland & Sling

16. Newnham

17. Pillowell

18. Ruspidge

19. St Briavels

20. Tidenham

21. Westbury-on-Severn


  1. The Local Government Boundary Commission for England is responsible for reviewing local authority electoral arrangements, e.g. defining boundaries for local elections and the number of councillors to be elected and – separately - for conducting reviews of local government external boundaries and structure.


  1. The electoral review of Forest of Dean District Council is a separate undertaking from the review of parliamentary constituency boundaries which is being carried out by a separate body (Boundary Commission for England) under different rules and legislation.


  1. Full details of the Commission’s final recommendations (including maps) can be viewed at: