Share On:

Ward boundaries finalised for new West Suffolk Council

23rd October 2018

Ward boundaries for the new West Suffolk Council have been published by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England.


In May, the government confirmed that two new local authorities should be established in Suffolk. A new West Suffolk District Council will be formed of a merger between St Edmundsbury and Forest Heath councils. East Suffolk Council will be made up of a merger between Suffolk Coastal and Waveney councils.


The Commission has now finalised the wards which will be represented by West Suffolk’s 64 councillors. The new arrangements will come into effect at the council’s first elections next year.


A review of ward boundaries for the new East Suffolk Council has taken place at the same time.




Illustrate your story with a map of the new ward boundaries. Find a high res image at:


Credit: contains Ordnance Survey data (c) Crown copyright and database rights 2018


The Commission’s final recommendations propose that West Suffolk’s 64 councillors should represent two three-councillor wards, seventeen two-councillor wards and twenty-four one-councillor wards.


Professor Colin Mellors, Chair of the Commission, said, “We are grateful to people across West Suffolk who took part in the review. The Commission has looked at all the evidence that was put forward during the consultation.


“We believe these recommendations deliver electoral fairness for voters as well as reflecting community ties throughout West Suffolk.”


In response to local feedback during the public consultation, the Commission has changed some of the proposals it put forward in July.


Towards the south of the new council area, the Commission has changed its recommendations so that the parish of Rede will now be included in the Chedburgh & Chevington ward rather than Cavendish ward. The Commission has responded positively to local views that described the close community ties between the parishes of Chedburgh, Depden and Rede.


Further to the south, the Commission has been able to accommodate local consultation responses as part of its final recommendations. For example, feedback on the draft proposals described the community links between the parish of Clare and the parishes of Stoke by Clare and Wixoe. The parishes had been included in separate wards under the draft proposals but the Commission has now redrawn its boundaries so that they will all be part of a Clare, Hundon & Kedington ward alongside other parishes.


Elsewhere in West Suffolk, and in response to local feedback, the Commission has made minor changes to its proposals in Mildenhall, Newmarket and Haverhill. It has also changed the name of some of its proposed wards as a result of local suggestions.


The full recommendations are available on the Commission’s website at


The proposed new arrangements must now be implemented by Parliament. A draft Order – the legal document which brings into force the recommendations – will be laid in Parliament in the coming weeks. The draft Order provides for the electoral arrangements to come into force at the authority’s first elections in 2019.




For further information contact the Commission’s press office on: 0330 500 1525 / 1250 or email: [email protected]


Notes to editors:


Key to map above:


1. Abbeygate

2. Bardwell

3. Barningham

4. Barrow

5. Brandon Central

6. Brandon East

7. Brandon West

8. Chedburgh & Chevington

9. Clare, Hundon & Kedington

10. Eastgate

11. Exning

12. Haverhill Central

13. Haverhill East

14. Haverhill North

15. Haverhill South East

16. Haverhill South

17. Haverhill West

18. Horringer

19. Iceni

20. Ixworth

21. Kentford & Moulton

22. Lakenheath

23. Manor

24. Mildenhall Great Heath

25. Mildenhall Kingsway & Market

26. Mildenhall Queensway

27. Minden

28. Moreton Hall

29. Newmarket East

30. Newmarket North

31. Newmarket West

32. Pakenham & Troston

33. Risby

34. Rougham

35. Southgate

36. St Olaves

37. Stanton

38. The Fornhams & Great Barton

39. The Rows

40. Tollgate

41. Westgate

42. Whepstead & Wickhambrook

43. Withersfield


  1. The Local Government Boundary Commission for England is responsible for reviewing local authority electoral arrangements, e.g. defining boundaries for local elections and the number of councillors to be elected and – separately - for conducting reviews of local government external boundaries and structure.


  1. In May 2018, the government confirmed changes to local government in Suffolk. The decision means the creation of a new West Suffolk Council and a new East Suffolk Council.


  1. In July 2018, the Commission held a public consultation on its draft proposals for new ward boundaries and has taken into account all submissions made before finalising these recommendations.


  1. Full details of the Commission’s final recommendations (including maps) can be viewed at: