Share On:

Ward boundaries finalised for new Somerset West and Taunton Council

23rd October 2018

Ward boundaries for Somerset’s newest council have been published by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England.


The Commission has drawn up the boundaries following an electoral review of the new Somerset West and Taunton Council. The arrangements will come into effect at the authority’s first elections next year.


In May, the government agreed that West Somerset District Council and Taunton Deane Borough Council should merge to form a new Somerset West and Taunton Council. The Commission’s review creates the wards to which voters will elect each of the new authority’s 59 councillors.


summary map


Illustrate your story with a map of the new ward boundaries. Find a high res image at:


Credit: contains Ordnance Survey data (c) Crown copyright and database rights 2018


The Commission’s final recommendations propose that Somerset West and Taunton’s 59 councillors should represent five three-councillor wards, fourteen two-councillor wards and sixteen one-councillor wards.


Professor Colin Mellors, Chair of the Commission, said, “We are grateful to people across Somerset West and Taunton who took part in the review. The Commission has looked at all the evidence that was put forward during the consultation.


“We believe these recommendations deliver electoral fairness for voters as well as reflecting community ties throughout Somerset West and Taunton.”


In response to local feedback during the public consultation, the Commission has changed some of the proposals it put forward in July. For example, in Taunton, the Commission has moved away from its proposal to divide the Halcon area between wards. The area will now be wholly included in a Halcon & Lane ward. The Commission has also changed its proposals elsewhere in Taunton to better reflect local community ties including maintaining the current Blackbrook & Holway ward. Additionally, the Commission has responded to local comments and decided that the town centre should be placed in Victoria ward.


Elsewhere in Somerset West and Taunton, the Commission has changed the names of several of the wards it originally proposed after listening to local feedback. The changes, and the full recommendations, are available on the Commission’s website at


The proposed new arrangements must now be implemented by Parliament. A draft Order – the legal document which brings into force the recommendations – will be laid in Parliament in the coming weeks. The draft Order provides for the electoral arrangements to come into force at the authority’s first elections in 2019.




For further information contact the Commission’s press office on: 0330 500 1525 / 1250 or email: [email protected]


Notes to editors:


Key to map above:


1. Alcombe

2. Blackbrook & Holway

3. Comeytrowe & Bishop's


4. Cotford St Luke & Oake

5. Creech St Michael

6. Dulverton & District

7. Exmoor

8. Halcon & Lane

9. Hatch & Blackdown

10. Manor & Tangier

11. Milverton & District

12. Minehead Central

13. Minehead North

14. Monument

15. North Curry & Ruishton

16. North Town

17. Norton Fitzwarren &


18. Old Cleeve & District

19. Periton & Woodcombe

20. Porlock & District

21. Priorswood

22. Quantock Vale

23. Rockwell Green

24. South Quantock

25. Trull, Pitminster & Corfe

26. Victoria

27. Vivary

28. Watchet & Williton

29. Wellington East

30. Wellington North

31. Wellington South

32. Wellsprings &


33. West Monkton &

Cheddon Fitzpaine

34. Wilton & Sherford

35. Wiveliscombe & District


  1. The Local Government Boundary Commission for England is responsible for reviewing local authority electoral arrangements, e.g. defining boundaries for local elections and the number of councillors to be elected and – separately - for conducting reviews of local government external boundaries and structure.


  1. In May 2018, the government confirmed that West Somerset District Council and Taunton Deane Borough Council should merge to form a new local authority. The Commission’s review sets out the ward boundaries to be used to elect councillors in the new Somerset West and Taunton Council.


  1. In July 2018, the Commission held a public consultation on its draft proposals for new ward boundaries and has taken into account all submissions made before finalising these recommendations.


  1. Full details of the Commission’s final recommendations (including maps) can be viewed at: