Share On:

The Boundary Committee announces proposals for electoral arrangements in Lincoln

25th May 2006

The Boundary Committee announces proposals for electoral arrangements in Lincoln

25th May 2006

This is an archived news release and links may no longer work.

Final plans for new electoral arrangements in Lincoln are being submitted to The Electoral Commission today. The recommendations from The Boundary Committee for England mark the end of a review which began in August 2004. They include changes to ward boundaries across the borough.


Pamela Gordon, Chair of the Committee said: In June 2005, a 12-week period of public consultation on the draft recommendations began. The responses lead to some changes to our original proposals. The aim of the review has been to ensure that, as far as possible, one persons vote should have the same value as anothers.


The Electoral Commission is now responsible for deciding the outcome of the Committees recommendations and all further correspondence should be addressed to The Secretary, The Electoral Commission, Trevelyan House, Great Peter Street, London SW1P 2HW.


As part of its final recommendations, the Committee has proposed a retention of the current council size of 33 members.


The Committees reports are available on its website at or at council offices and at public libraries. Copies of the reports can also be obtained by writing to The Boundary Committee for England, Trevelyan House, Great Peter Street, London  SW1P 2HW.


For further information contact:

Anna McGlynn on 020 7271 0530 or Tabitha Cunniffe on 020 7271 0529

Out of Office hours 07789 920 414, Fax: 020 7271 0528





Notes to editors:

1. PDFs of maps are available on The Boundary Committees website  For copyright permission, contact Ordnance Surveys helpline on 023 8030 5092.

2. The present review of Lincoln began on 3 August 2004. Draft recommendations were published on 21 June 2005 and are also available on the Committees web site at

3.  The Boundary Committee is a statutory committee of The Electoral Commission.