Share On:

The Boundary Committee announces proposals for electoral arrangements in Leicestershire

14th September 2004

The Boundary Committee announces proposals for electoral arrangements in Leicestershire

14th September 2004

This is an archived news release and links may no longer work.

Final plans for new electoral arrangements in Leicestershire are being submitted to The Electoral Commission today. The recommendations from The Boundary Committee for England mark the end of a review which began in March 2003. They include changes to division boundaries across the area.

Pamela Gordon, Chair of the Committee said: In February 2004, a nine-week period of public consultation on the draft recommendations began. The responses lead to some changes to our original proposals. The aim of the review has been to ensure that, as far as possible, one persons vote should have the same value as anothers. The improvements in electoral equality we are recommending today meet that objective without disrupting community interests.

The Electoral Commission is now responsible for deciding the outcome of the Committees recommendations and all further correspondence should be addressed to The Secretary, The Electoral Commission, Trevelyan House, Great Peter Street, London SW1P 2HW.

As part of its final recommendations, the Committee proposes a council size of 55 councillors, an increase of one councillor, representing 52 divisions, a decrease of two. In order to better reflect community identity we are broadly confirming our draft recommendations as final, subject to the following amendments:

  • In Oadby borough, Blaby district and North West Leicestershire district, we propose a number of division name changes;
  • In Charnwood borough, the proposed two-member Birstall & Thurmaston division should be replaced by two single-member divisions;
  • In Hinckley & Bosworth borough, we are proposing amending two divisions. We also propose that Burbage division should be renamed Burbage Castle division.

The boundaries of 51 of the existing 54 divisions will be subject to change.

The Committees reports are available on its website at or at council offices and at public libraries. Copies of the reports can also be obtained by writing to The Boundary Committee for England, Trevelyan House, Great Peter Street, London SW1P 2HW.

For further information contact:

Maxine Hoeksma on 020 7271 0531 or Gemma Crosland on 020 7271 0527

Out of Office hours 07789 920 414, Fax: 020 7271 0528


Notes to editors:

1.       PDFs of maps are available on The Boundary Committees website  For copyright permission, contact Ordnance Surveys helpline on 023 8030 5092.

2.       The present review of Leicestershire began on 11 March 2003. Draft recommendations were published on 24 February 2004 and are also available on the Committees web site at

3.       The Boundary Committee is a statutory committee of The Electoral Commission.