Share On:

The Boundary Committee announces proposals for electoral arrangements in Lancashire

12th October 2004

The Boundary Committee announces proposals for electoral arrangements in Lancashire

12th October 2004

This is an archived news release and links may no longer work.

Final plans for new electoral arrangements in Lancashire are being submitted to The Electoral Commission today. The recommendations from The Boundary Committee for England mark the end of a review which began in July 2002. They include changes to division boundaries across the area.

Pamela Gordon, Chair of the Committee said: In June 2004, a further period of public consultation on the draft recommendations began. The responses lead to some changes to our original proposals. The aim of the review has been to ensure that, as far as possible, one persons vote should have the same value as anothers. The improvements in electoral equality we are recommending today meet that objective without disrupting community interests.

The Electoral Commission is now responsible for deciding the outcome of the Committees recommendations and all further correspondence should be addressed to The Secretary, The Electoral Commission, Trevelyan House, Great Peter Street, London SW1P 2HW.

The boundaries of all but one existing division will be subject to change. We are broadly confirming our draft recommendations as final, subject to the following amendments. In South Ribble borough, Chorley borough and the City of Preston we propose renaming four, two and four of our proposed districts respectively. In the City of Lancaster, we adopted four divisions that were locally proposed, two of which were adopted in their entirety and two of which were adopted with a single common amendment. In Hyndburn borough, we propose transferring Altham parish and part of the unparished area of Altham ward from Rishton, Clayton-le-Moors & Altham division into Accrington North division. Our final recommendations are for a council size of 84 councillors, an increase of six, representing 84 divisions.

The Committees reports are available on its website at or at council offices and at public libraries. Copies of the reports can also be obtained by writing to The Boundary Committee for England, Trevelyan House, Great Peter Street, London SW1P 2HW.

For further information contact:

Maxine Hoeksma on 020 7271 0531 or Tabitha Cunniffe on 020 7271 0529

Out of Office hours 07789 920 414, Fax: 020 7271 0528


Notes to editors:

1.       PDFs of maps are available on The Boundary Committees website  For copyright permission, contact Ordnance Surveys helpline on 023 8030 5092.

2.       The review of Lancashires electoral arrangements began on 9 July 2002, with the Committee publishing its draft recommendations on 28 May 2003. The review was halted in June 2003 after the Committee began a review of local government structures for Cumbria and Lancashire. The draft recommendations were re-issued on 2 June 2004 and followed by a further period of consultation. Details are available on the Committees web site at

3.       The Boundary Committee is a statutory committee of The Electoral Commission.