Share On:

The Boundary Committee announces proposals for electoral arrangements in Essex

27th April 2004

The Boundary Committee announces proposals for electoral arrangements in Essex

27th April 2004

This is an archived news release and links may no longer work.

27 April 2004

Final plans for new electoral arrangements in Essex are being submitted to The Electoral Commission today. The recommendations from The Boundary Committee for England mark the end of a review which began in August 2002. They include changes to division boundaries across the area.

Pamela Gordon, Chair of the Committee said: During autumn 2003 a successful public consultation on the draft recommendations was carried out. The responses have led to us changing some of the proposals. The aim of the review has been to ensure that, as far as possible, one persons vote should have the same value as anothers. The improvements in electoral equality we are recommending today meet that objective without disrupting community interests.

The Electoral Commission is now responsible for deciding the outcome of the Committees recommendations and all further correspondence should be addressed to The Secretary, The Electoral Commission, Trevelyan House, Great Peter Street, London SW1P 2HW.

The boundaries of all divisions will be subject to change. All divisions are based on district wards, which changed as a result of the recent district council Periodic Electoral Reviews.

The Committee is endorsing its draft recommendations as final subject to the following amendments. In Maldon the Committee is proposing to change the name of Tollesbury division to Heyebridge & Tollesbury in order to better reflect the constituent areas. In Tendring the Committee is proposing a boundary modification between Clacton North and Clacton West divisions.

In Brentwood, Chelmsford, Colchester, Epping Forest and Harlow the Committee is basing its final recommendations on locally generated schemes. In Chelmsford the Committee is now recommending a uniform pattern of single member divisions.

The final recommendations are for a council size of 75 , representing 70 divisions.

The Committees report is available on its website at or at council offices and at public libraries. Copies of the report can also be obtained by writing to The Boundary Committee for England, Trevelyan House, Great Peter Street, London SW1P 2HW.

For further information contact:

Elise Cross on 020 7271 0530 or Gemma Crosland on 020 7271 0527

Out of Office hours 07789 920 414, Fax: 020 7271 0528

[email protected]


Notes to editors:

1.       PDFs of maps are available on The Boundary Committees website  For copyright permission, contact Ordnance Surveys helpline on 023 8030 5092.

2.       The present review of Essex began on 6 August 2002. Draft recommendations were published on 12 August and are also available on the Committees web site at

The Boundary Committee is a statutory committee of The Electoral Commission.