Share On:

The Boundary Committee announces proposals for electoral arrangements in East Sussex

27th July 2004

The Boundary Committee announces proposals for electoral arrangements in East Sussex

27th July 2004

This is an archived news release and links may no longer work.

Final plans for new electoral arrangements in East Sussex are being submitted to The Electoral Commission today. The recommendations from The Boundary Committee for England mark the end of a review which began in December 2002. They include changes to division boundaries across the area.

Pamela Gordon, Chair of the Committee said: In January 2004, an eight-week period of public consultation on the draft recommendations began. The responses lead to some changes to our original proposals. The aim of the review has been to ensure that, as far as possible, one persons vote should have the same value as anothers. The improvements in electoral equality we are recommending today meet that objective without disrupting community interests.

The Electoral Commission is now responsible for deciding the outcome of the Committees recommendations and all further correspondence should be addressed to The Secretary, The Electoral Commission, Trevelyan House, Great Peter Street, London SW1P 2HW.

All divisions are based on district wards which have changed as a result of district council reviews and therefore the boundaries of all divisions will be subject to change. The Committee is confirming its draft recommendations subject to the following amendments:

  •  In Lewes district the Committee is proposing five new division names, in Rother district it is proposing four new division names and in Wealden district it is proposing two new division names;
  • In Wealden district, the Committee is proposing that the single-member Crowborough North and Crowborough divisions should be replaced with a two-member Crowborough division. It is also proposing that a two-member Hailsham & Herstmonceux division should replace the existing single-member Hailsham North, Herstmonceux & Ninfield and Hailsham South divisions;
  • Our final recommendations are for a council of 49 councillors representing 44 divisions.

The Committees reports are available on its website at or at council offices and at public libraries. Copies of the reports can also be obtained by writing to The Boundary Committee for England, Trevelyan House, Great Peter Street, London SW1P 2HW.

For further information contact:

Maxine Hoeksma on 020 7271 0531 or Tabitha Cunniffe on 020 7271 0529

Out of Office hours 07789 920 414, Fax: 020 7271 0528


Notes to editors:

1.       PDFs of maps are available on The Boundary Committees website  For copyright permission, contact Ordnance Surveys helpline on 023 8030 5092.

2.       The present review of East Sussex began on 10 December 2002. Draft recommendations were published on 13 January 2004 and are also available on the Committees web site at

3.       The Boundary Committee is a statutory committee of The Electoral Commission.