Share On:

The Boundary Committee announces proposals for electoral arrangements in Dacorum

16th August 2006

The Boundary Committee announces proposals for electoral arrangements in Dacorum

15th August 2006

This is an archived news release and links may no longer work.

Final plans for new electoral arrangements in Dacorum are being submitted to The Electoral Commission today. The recommendations from The Boundary Committee for England mark the end of a review which began in May 2005. They include changes to ward boundaries across the district.

Pamela Gordon, Chair of the Committee said: 'In November 2005, a 12 week period of public consultation on the draft recommendations began. The responses lead to some changes to our original proposals. The aim of the review has been to ensure that, as far as possible, one person's vote should have the same value as another's.'

The Electoral Commission is now responsible for deciding the outcome of the Committee's recommendations and all further correspondence should be addressed to The Secretary, The Electoral Commission, Trevelyan House, Great Peter Street, London SW1P 2HW.

As part of its final recommendations, the Committee proposes a reduction in council size from 52 to 51 councillors.

The Committee's reports are available on its website at or at council offices and at public libraries. Copies of the reports can also be obtained by writing to The Boundary Committee for England, Trevelyan House, Great Peter Street,

London  SW1P 2HW.

For further information contact:

Anna McGlynn on 020 7271 0530 or Tabitha Cunniffe on 020 7271 0529

Out of Office hours 07789 920 414, Fax: 020 7271 0528


Notes to editors:

1. PDFs of maps are available on The Boundary Committees website  For copyright permission, contact Ordnance Survey's helpline on 023 8030 5092.

2. The present review of Dacorum began on 17 May 2005. Draft recommendations were published on 29 November 2005 and are also available on the Committee's web site at

3. The Boundary Committee is a statutory committee of The Electoral Commission.