Share On:

South Northamptonshire residents consulted on proposed changes to district council electoral arrange

17th May 2005

South Northamptonshire residents consulted on proposed changes to district council electoral arrange

17th May 2005

This is an archived news release and links may no longer work.

Residents in South Northamptonshire are being asked for their views on new district council electoral arrangements. The Boundary Committee for England today publishes its draft recommendations for proposed changes to provide a better electoral balance.

The public consultation period begins today and runs until 8 August 2005. The Committee will take into account all representations received by this date when it produces its final recommendations to submit to The Electoral Commission. The Committee may change some or all of the proposals, depending on the responses it receives during the consultation period. It is therefore important that members of the public let the Committee have their views, whether or not they agree with the draft recommendations.

Commenting on the proposals, the Committees Chair, Pamela Gordon, said: At present, the electoral arrangements across South Northamptonshire are significantly unbalanced. For example, the worst imbalances are in Courteenhall ward, where each councillor represents 40% more electors than the district average, while the councillor for Cogenhoe ward represents 22% fewer electors than the district average.

The aim of our review is to ensure that, as far as possible within each district, each persons vote should have the same value as anothers, without disrupting community identities. We are consulting until 8 August 2005 and I hope that all those affected by our proposals will tell us what they think about them.

Based on information made available so far, the Committee recommends that the council size should remain unchanged at 42 councillors comprising 27 wards.

Copies of the report are available from the Committees website at or by writing to the Committee, and will be available for reference at council offices and in public libraries.

Anyone wishing to make representations to the Committee on its draft recommendations should do so in writing no later than 8 August 2005 to: Review Manager (South Northamptonshire), The Boundary Committee for England, Trevelyan House, Great Peter Street, London SW1P 2HW. All representations will be available for inspection (including the names and addresses of respondents unless otherwise specified), by appointment, at the Committees offices and copies will be available at the offices of the relevant local authority. Copies of all representations will also be available to be viewed on the Committees website. A list of respondents is also available on request from the Committee.

For further information contact:

Maxine Hoeksma on 020 7271 0531 or Gemma Crosland on 020 7271 0527

Out of office hours 07789 920 414, Fax: 020 7271 0528

[email protected]

Notes to editors:

1.      PDFs of maps are available on The Boundary Committees website For copyright permission, contact Ordnance Surveys help line on 023 8030 5092.

2.      The present review of South Northamptonshire began on 3 August 2004

3.      The Boundary Committee for England is a statutory committee of The Electoral Commission.