Share On:

Political map of Norfolk set to change

24th September 2019

The independent Local Government Boundary Commission for England is asking local people for their help to draw up a new pattern of council divisions for Norfolk County Council.

The consultation is the first part of an electoral review which will re-draw division boundaries across the county.

The Commission has also announced that Norfolk County Council should have 84 councillors in future: no change from the current arrangements.

Existing Divisions Map


Illustrate your story with a map of current divisions. High res image available at:


Credit: contains Ordnance Survey data (c) Crown copyright and database rights 2019


In drawing up new boundaries, the Commission aims to deliver electoral equality for voters in council elections so that each councillor represents roughly the same number of voters. The review also aims to ensure that the new council divisions reflect, as far as possible, the interests and identities of communities across Norfolk.

Professor Colin Mellors, Chair of the Commission, said: “We are asking local people and organisations to help us draw up new divisions for Norfolk. As we develop the recommendations, we will take into account local community identities as well as ensuring electoral equality for voters.

“If you have a view about which communities or neighbourhoods should be part of the same council division, then we want to hear from you. And if you think a road, river or railway makes for a strong boundary between communities in your part of Norfolk, then this consultation is for you.

“If you’re interested in the way the county is run, just log on to our website to explore our interactive maps and have your say.

“Your views will make a difference. 

“We will carefully consider all evidence that is provided during this phase of the review, whoever it is from and whether it applies to the whole of Norfolk or just a small part of the county.

“Residents will then have a further chance to have their say after we publish our draft recommendations in .”

Local people have until 2 December to submit their views in this consultation. Further information on the review and interactive maps of the existing divisions can be found at and



Notes to editors:


  1. The Local Government Boundary Commission for England is responsible for reviewing local authority electoral arrangements, defining boundaries for local elections and the number of councillors to be elected, as well as conducting reviews of councils’ external boundaries and structures.
  2. The aim of the division boundary changes is to provide for ‘electoral equality’; that means each councillor representing approximately the same number of electors. The Commission must also have regard to community identity and interests and providing effective and convenient local government
  3. The council has formally asked the Commission to carry out a single-member division review. This means that the Commission will aim to draw up a pattern of electoral divisions where each division is represented by one county councillor.
  4. The types of questions the Commission is asking residents at this stage are:
  • Do you have suggestions about where your division boundaries should be?
  • Which areas do you identify as your local community?
  • Where do people in your area go to access local facilities such as shops and leisure activities?
  1. Residents have from 24 September until 2 December 2019 to have their say about where division boundaries for Norfolk’s 84 councillors should be drawn. The Commission will then publish its draft recommendations in March 2020 and open a further phase of consultation with local people. New divisions are scheduled to come into effect at the 2021 council elections.
  2. Members of the public can have their say on the new electoral arrangements by writing to:


The Review Officer (Norfolk)


1st Floor, Windsor House

50 Victoria Street

London SW1H 0TL

Email: [email protected]  

Follow the Commission on Twitter: @LGBCE

Go directly to the Commission’s consultation portal at:

Find out more on our website at:

For further information contact the Commission’s press office on: 0330 500 1250 / 1525 or email: [email protected]

[email protected]