Share On:

New political map for Mid Devon District Council

12th January 2021

Mid Devon is set to have new boundaries for its council wards.



Description automatically generated

New wards for Mid Devon District Council

Credit: contains Ordnance Survey data (c) Crown copyright and database rights 2020

High resolution map available at


The Local Government Boundary Commission is the independent body that draws these boundaries. It has reviewed Mid Devon to make sure councillors will represent about the same number of electors, and that ward arrangements will help the council work effectively.

The Commission has published final recommendations for changes in Mid Devon. It says residents should be represented by 42 councillors. This is the same as current arrangements.

There will be 22 wards: five three-councillor wards, ten two-councillor wards and seven single-councillor wards. All wards will change, except Silverton and Upper Culm.


Publishing the recommendations Professor Colin Mellors, Chair of the Commission, said:

“We are very grateful to people in Mid Devon. We looked at all the views they gave us. They helped us improve our earlier proposals.

“We believe the new arrangements will guarantee electoral fairness while maintaining local ties.” 


People and organisations made 124 comments to help decide the new wards. Changes in response to what local people said include: 

  • Reverting to the existing boundary between Silverton and Cadbury wards, based on several submissions which opposed our draft Silverton & Cadbury ward
  • Reverting to the earlier proposals for Yeo ward, primarily in response to submissions which opposed the division of Crediton Hamlets parish between wards


The Commission has made further changes to its earlier proposals. Details can be found on its website at 

Parliament now needs to agree the changes. The new arrangements will then apply for the 2023 council elections.  


Notes to editors: 

For further information contact the Commission’s press office on 0330 500 1525 / 1250 or email

An interactive map is available at

The Local Government Boundary Commission for England is an independent body accountable to Parliament. It recommends fair electoral and boundary arrangements for local authorities in England. In doing so, it aims to:

  • Make sure that, within an authority, each councillor represents a similar number of electors
  • Create boundaries that are appropriate, and reflect community ties and identities
  • Deliver reviews informed by local needs, views and circumstances