Share On:

New political map for East Staffordshire Borough Council

30th March 2021

East Staffordshire is set to have new boundaries for its council wards.



Description automatically generated

New wards for East Staffordshire Borough Council

Credit: contains Ordnance Survey data (c) Crown copyright and database rights 2021

High resolution map available at


The Local Government Boundary Commission is the independent body that draws these boundaries. It has reviewed East Staffordshire to make sure councillors will represent about the same number of electors, and that ward arrangements will help the council work effectively.


The Commission has published final recommendations for changes in East Staffordshire. It says residents should be represented by 37 councillors. This is two fewer than current arrangements.


There will be 16 wards with one, two or three councillors per ward. All wards will change.


Publishing the recommendations Professor Colin Mellors, Chair of the Commission, said:


“We are very grateful to people in East Staffordshire. We looked at all the views they gave us. They helped us improve our earlier proposals.

 “We believe the new arrangements will guarantee electoral fairness while maintaining local ties.” 


People and organisations made over 170 comments to help decide the new wards. Changes in response to what local people said include: 


  • The Commission received overwhelming evidence that the more rural communities in the south of the borough should not be placed in a ward with the more urban Branston area. As a result of this feedback, it is recommending the creation of a three-member Bagots & Needwood ward and a three-member Branston ward.
  • In a change from the previous recommendations, Blithfield and Abbots Bromley will continue to be in the same ward.


The Commission has made further changes to its earlier proposals. Details can be found on its website at


Parliament now needs to agree the changes. The new arrangements will then apply for the 2023 council elections.  



Notes to editors: 

For further information contact the Commission’s press office on 0330 500 1525 / 1250 or email

An interactive map is available at

The Local Government Boundary Commission for England is an independent body accountable to Parliament. It recommends fair electoral and boundary arrangements for local authorities in England. In doing so, it aims to:

  • Make sure that, within an authority, each councillor represents a similar number of electors
  • Create boundaries that are appropriate, and reflect community ties and identities
  • Deliver reviews informed by local needs, views and circumstances