Share On:

New political map for Derbyshire Dales District Council

29th June 2021


Derbyshire Dales is set to have new boundaries for its council wards.


New wards for Derbyshire Dales

Credit: contains Ordnance Survey data (c) Crown copyright and database rights 2021

High resolution map available at


The Local Government Boundary Commission is the independent body that draws these boundaries. It has reviewed Derbyshire Dales to make sure councillors will represent about the same number of electors, and that ward arrangements will help the council work effectively.


The Commission has published final recommendations for changes in Derbyshire Dales. It says residents should be represented by 34 councillors. This is five fewer than current arrangements.


There will be 20 wards; ten single-councillor wards, six two-councillor wards, and four three-councillor wards. This is five fewer wards than there are now. The boundaries of 17 wards have been changed in our draft recommendations; three will stay the same.


Publishing the recommendations Professor Colin Mellors, Chair of the Commission, said:


“We are very grateful to people in Derbyshire Dales. We looked at all the views they gave us. They helped us improve our earlier proposals.

 “We believe the new arrangements will guarantee electoral fairness while maintaining local ties.” 


252 people and organisations made comments to help decide the new wards. Changes in response to what local people said include: 


  • The Matlock wards no longer separate rural and urban areas, and now more closely resemble the existing boundaries.
  • ​Bonsall is no longer in a ward with Winster and has been reunited in a ward with Cromford and Matlock Bath.
  • ​Youlgrave has been separated from Bakewell and is the nucleus of its own ward.


The Commission has made further changes to its earlier proposals. Details can be found on its website at


Parliament now needs to agree the changes. The new arrangements will then apply for the 2023 council elections.  



Notes to editors: 

For further information contact the Commission’s press office on 0330 500 1525 / 1250 or email

An interactive map is available at


The Local Government Boundary Commission for England is an independent body accountable to Parliament. It recommends fair electoral and boundary arrangements for local authorities in England. In doing so, it aims to:

  • Make sure that, within an authority, each councillor represents a similar number of electors
  • Create boundaries that are appropriate, and reflect community ties and identities
  • Deliver reviews informed by local needs, views and circumstances