Share On:

Local electoral arrangements finalised for Copeland Borough Council

The independent Local Government Boundary Commission for England has published its final recommendations for new electoral arrangements for Copeland Borough Council.

Copeland Map


Illustrate your story with a map of the new ward boundaries. Find a high res image at:

Credit: contains Ordnance Survey data (c) Crown copyright and database rights 2018


Today’s publication follows public consultation on its draft proposals and draws new boundaries for each council ward across Copeland.


The boundaries of all but one of Copeland’s current wards will change as a result of the review.


The Commission’s final recommendations propose that Copeland should be represented by 33 borough councillors in the future: 18 fewer than the current arrangement. The recommendations also propose that those councillors should represent six three-councillor wards, four two-councillor wards and seven one-councillor wards across the borough.


Professor Colin Mellors, Chair of the Commission, said, “We are extremely grateful to people across Copeland who took part in the review. The Commission has looked at all the evidence that was put forward during the consultation.


“We believe these recommendations deliver electoral fairness for voters as well as reflecting community ties throughout Copeland.”


In response to local feedback during consultation, the Commission has made changes to some of the wards it put forward for consultation earlier this year. In the north of the borough, the Commission has changed its proposal to divide the parish of Arlecdon & Frizington between wards, so that the whole parish will now be included in the Arlecdon & Ennerdale ward.


In the west of the borough, the Commission has also changed its draft proposals to ensure that the whole of Cleator Moor parish is included in a single ward. During public consultation, the Commission heard evidence from local people that the Commission’s initial recommendations had divided the parish between two wards.


In the central parts of the borough, the Commission had proposed separate Gosforth and Seascale wards. During consultation, local people argued that the two areas shared strong community ties and should both be part of the same ward. As a result, the Commission has changed its proposals and the area will be covered by a Gosforth & Seascale ward to be represented by two councillors. The new proposal also means that Drigg & Carleton parish will not now be split between two wards.


Elsewhere in the borough, the Commission has also listened to local views and renames its proposed Rosebank ward as Sneakyeat ward.


Full details of the final recommendations are available on the Commission’s website at


The proposed new arrangements must now be implemented by Parliament. A draft Order – the legal document which brings into force the recommendations – will be laid in Parliament in the coming months. The draft Order provides for the new electoral arrangements to come into force at the council elections in 2019.




For further information contact the Commission’s press office on: 0330 500 1525 / 1250 or email: [email protected]


Notes to editors:


  1. Key to map over page:


1.         Arlecdon & Ennerdale

2.         Beckermet

3.         Black Combe & Scafell

4.         Cleator Moor

5.         Corkickle

6.         Distington, Lowca & Parton

7.         Egremont

8.         Gosforth & Seascale

9.         Hillcrest

10.       Kells

11.       Millom

12.       Moor Row & Bigrigg

13.       Moresby

14.       Sneckyeat

15.       St Bees

16.       Whitehaven Central

17.       Whitehaven South


  1. The Local Government Boundary Commission for England is responsible for reviewing local authority electoral arrangements, e.g. defining boundaries for local elections and the number of councillors to be elected and – separately - for conducting reviews of local government external boundaries and structure.


  1. The electoral review of Copeland Borough Council is a separate undertaking from the review of parliamentary constituency boundaries which is being carried out by a separate body (Boundary Commission for England) under different rules and legislation.


  1. Full details of the Commission’s final recommendations (including maps) can be viewed at: