Share On:

Local residents urged to have their say on South Lakeland boundaries

21st November 2006

Local residents urged to have their say on South Lakeland boundaries

21st November 2006

This is an archived news release and links may no longer work.

The Boundary Committee for England is asking the people of South Lakeland for their views on proposals which will affect the local government ward boundaries and number of councillors in the district. The Committee particularly wants to hear people's views on community identity in their area and feedback on proposed changes to ward boundaries.

One of the recommendations is to transfer Troutbeck parish ward from Lakes parish, currently in Lakes District ward into our proposed Windermere Applethwaite ward, to improve electoral equality this is to ensure that all councillors in the local authority represent similar numbers of electors. The Committee invites local people to give their thoughts on how this might impact on communities in those areas.

The Committee is also considering whether the proposed three member ward, to be called Sedbergh & Kirkby Lonsdale, would adequately reflect the identities and interests of the local communities, secure effective and convenient local government and achieve equality of representation. People living in the area who have views on this recommendation are encouraged to contact the Boundary Committee.

It is recommended that the council size is reduced by one so there would be 51 councillors serving 45 wards. This is based on a submission from South Lakeland District Council.

Archie Gall, Director of the Boundary Committee for England said: 

'We welcome comments from all those interested relating to the number of councillors, proposed ward boundaries, ward names, and parish and town council electoral arrangements. We would particularly want to see views on the issues of community identities in the area of South Lakeland.'

Comments on the draft recommendations can be made to the Commission by emailing [email protected] or sent to The Boundary Committee for England, Trevelyan House, Great Peter Street, London SW1P 2HW. Anyone wishing to view the recommendations should visit the Boundary committee website at



For further information contact:

Liz Hutchinson on 0207 271 0527

Out of office hours 07789 920 414, Fax: 020 7271 0528

[email protected]

Notes to editors:

1.      The Boundary Committee is a statutory committee of The Electoral Commission.