Share On:

Local residents encouraged to have their say on council size

28th September 2006

Local residents encouraged to have their say on council size

28th September 2006

This is an archived news release and links may no longer work.

The Boundary Committee for England is in the process of considering evidence received during the initial consultation stage of the Basingstoke & Deane Further Electoral Review. There is a suggestion that the number of councillors elected to Basingstoke & Deane Borough Council should be reduced, from 60 to 30 members, and feedback is needed from residents on this proposal.

The Committee has received a number of proposals for different council sizes for Basingstoke & Deane during this consultation period. Basingstoke & Deane Borough Council has made a proposal to retain the existing council size of 60 members. But a local resident has made a proposal to cut that number in half and reduce the council to 30 members.

The submission by the local resident made a number of well-argued points which has prompted the Committee to invite local feedback and explore the proposals further. Before reaching a conclusion on the most appropriate council size, the Committee wants to determine how such a reduction might impact on the management and functions of the Council, as well as the representational and other roles of councillors.

The Council has outlined its management and committee structure to the Committee and stated that it believes the decision making structures, policy formulation and consultation process that are embedded within the present committee structures work well and sees no reason to change them.

The Committee would welcome comment on both these sets of proposals and is requesting views on council size and how this would impact upon the Council's functions and representational role of councillors.

Anyone wishing to see the proposals for both sets of council size or to submit comments can visit the Boundary Committee website at or can write to The Boundary Committee for England, Trevelyan House, Great Peter Street, London SW1P 2HW. Responses need to be received by the 16 November 2006.


For further information contact:

Liz Hutchinson on 020 7271 0527

or Mary-Niamh Mullholland on 0207 271 0531

Out of office hours 07789 920 414, Fax: 020 7271 0528

[email protected]

Notes to editors:

1.      The Boundary Committee is a statutory committee of The Electoral Commission.