Share On:

Local electoral arrangements for West Lindsey finalised

26th September 2011

Local electoral arrangements for West Lindsey finalised

27th September 2011

The independent Local Government Boundary Commission for England has published its final recommendations for new electoral arrangements for West Lindsey District Council.

Today’s publication follows a 12-week public consultation on its draft proposals and draws new boundaries for each council ward in West Lindsey. The draft recommendations, published in March 2011, provided for a council of 36 members (one fewer than at present) and the Commission today confirms that figure in its final recommendations.

The Commission’s final report proposes a pattern of six three-member wards, four two-member and 10 single-member wards for the district. Max Caller, Chair of the Commission, said: “We’re extremely grateful to the people of West Lindsey who took the time and effort to send us their views. The Commission considered every piece of evidence it received before finalising these recommendations.

“The recommendations for West Lindsey will deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections where the value of your vote is similar regardless of where you live in the district. We have also tried to ensure that the new electoral arrangements reflect, as far as possible, the identities and interests of local communities across West Lindsey.”

“In response to the views submitted to us by local people during consultation, we have proposed a few changes to the recommendations we put forward in March. For example, we are proposing that Lea and Torksey should be represented by two, single-member wards rather than the two-member ward we proposed in the draft recommendations. The new proposals also mean that Springthorpe and Heapham parishes will remain together in a single-member Hemswell ward.

“We are also proposing to move away from the proposals for a three-member Nettleham & Sudbrooke ward to create a single-member Sudbrooke ward and a two-member Nettleham ward to reflect the different needs and characteristics of the areas.

The proposed new arrangements must now be implemented by Parliament. A draft Order – the legal document which brings into force the recommendations – will be laid in Parliament later in the year. The draft Order provides for new electoral arrangements which would come into force at the next local elections for West Lindsey in 2015.


For further information contact the Press Office: 0207 664 8530

Outside office hours: [email protected]

Notes to editors:

  1. The Local Government Boundary Commission for England is responsible for reviewing local authority electoral arrangements, e.g. defining boundaries for local elections and the number of councillors to be elected, and for conducting reviews of local government external boundaries and structure.
  2. In its final recommendations, the Commission is proposing changes to its draft recommendations which were published in March 2011. For example: creating two, single-member wards for Lea and Torksey instead of the two-member ward originally proposed in March 2011.

    The Commission is also proposing that the parishes of Springthorpe and Heapham should remain together in the same ward in a single-member Hemswell ward The Commission’s final recommendations also propose altering its draft recommendation for a three-member Nettleham and Sudbrooke ward and replacing it with a single-member Sudbrooke ward (containing the parishes of Scothern and Sudbrooke) and a two-member Nettleham ward.

  3. Full details of the Commission’s final recommendations (including maps) can be viewed at .
  4. The electoral review off West Lindsey District Council is a separate undertaking from the current review of parliamentary constituency boundaries which is being carried out by a separate body (Boundary Commission for England) under different rules and legislation.