Share On:

Local electoral arrangements for Northamptonshire finalised

12th October 2012

Local electoral arrangements for Northamptonshire finalised


The independent Local Government Boundary Commission for England has published its final recommendations for new electoral arrangements for Northamptonshire County Council.

Today’s publication follows an eight-week public consultation on its draft proposals and draws new boundaries for each electoral division across Northamptonshire.

The Commission’s final recommendations propose that Northamptonshire should be represented by 57 county councillors in the future, sixteen fewer than under the current arrangements. The recommendations also propose that those councillors should represent 57 single-member divisions across the county.

Max Caller, Chair of the Commission, said, “We are extremely grateful to the people of Northamptonshire who took the time and effort to send us their views. The Commission considered every piece of evidence it received before finalising these recommendations.

“Across the county, we have sought to balance the views expressed to us by local people with the criteria we must apply when we are deciding new electoral arrangements. As such, we believe these recommendations deliver electoral equality for local voters as well as reflecting the interests of communities across Northamptonshire.

“In response to the views submitted to us during consultation, we are proposing some changes to the recommendations we put forward in June. For example, we propose to alter our recommendations in Daventry so that the Lang Farm area is included in a division with the north eastern part of Daventry town. We were persuaded by the evidence presented to us that such an arrangement better reflected the identities of local communities so we have changed our recommendations accordingly.

“In Northampton, we also received evidence that proposed stronger and more identifiable boundaries for our Billing & Rectory Farm division as well as our proposed Tavalera division. We have been able to include those suggestions as part of our final recommendations.

“For Kettering, in response to submissions made to us, we have included the parishes of Mawsley and Thorpe Malsor in a Rothwell & Mawsley division and we propose that the whole of Barton Seagrave parish should be in Wicksteed division where it had been divided between divisions in our draft recommendations.

“We have also made changes to some of the arrangements for both the rural and urban parts of Wellingborough so that the electoral divisions have strong boundaries and reflect the identities of local communities.”

The proposed new arrangements must now be implemented by Parliament. A draft order – the legal document which brings into force the recommendations – will be laid in Parliament in the next few months. The draft Order provides for the new electoral arrangements to come into force at the county council elections in 2013.


For further information contact the Commission’s press office on: 0207 664 8530/8534 or email: [email protected]

Notes to editors:

1. The Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) is responsible for reviewing local authority electoral arrangements, e.g. defining boundaries for local elections and the number of councillors to be elected and – separately - for conducting reviews of local government external boundaries and structure.

2. Full details of the Commission’s final recommendations (including maps) can be viewed at /all-reviews/east-midlands/northamptonshire/northamptonshire-cc-fer Or at

3. The electoral review of Northamptonshire County Council is a separate undertaking from the current review of parliamentary constituency boundaries which is being carried out by a separate body (Boundary Commission for England) under different rules and legislation.