Share On:

Local electoral arrangements for Hartlepool finalised

27th September 2011

Local electoral arrangements for Hartlepool finalised

27th September 2011

The independent Local Government Boundary Commission for England has published its final recommendations for new electoral arrangements for Hartlepool Borough Council.

Today’s publication follows a 12-week public consultation on its draft proposals and draws new boundaries for each council ward in Hartlepool. The draft recommendations, published in March 2011, provided for a council of 33 members and the Commission today confirms that figure in its final recommendations.

The Commission’s final report also confirms a pattern of 11 three-member wards across the borough.

Max Caller, Chair of the Commission, said: “We’re extremely grateful to the people of Hartlepool who took the time and effort to send us their views. The Commission considered every piece of evidence it received before finalising these recommendations.

“In response to the views submitted to us by local people during consultation, the Commission is proposing to make a number of changes to the names of the wards we put forward in March.

“Our recommendations for Hartlepool will deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections where the value of your vote is similar regardless of where you live in the borough. We have also tried to ensure that the new electoral arrangements reflect, as far as possible, the identities and interests of local communities across Hartlepool.”

The proposed new arrangements must now be implemented by Parliament. A draft Order – the legal document which brings into force the recommendations – will be laid in Parliament later in the year. The draft Order provides for new electoral arrangements which would come into force at the next local elections for Hartlepool in May 2012.


For further information contact the Press Office: 0207 664 8530

Outside office hours:[email protected]

Notes to editors:

1. The Local Government Boundary Commission for England is responsible for reviewing local authority electoral arrangements, e.g. defining boundaries for local elections and the number of councillors to be elected, and for conducting reviews of local government external boundaries and structure.

2. In its final recommendations, the Commission is proposing new names for five of its proposed council wards in response to consultation with local people on its draft proposals: East ward is renamed as Seaton ward; Heritage ward is renamed Headland & Harbour ward; Middleton ward is renamed Burn Valley ward; Warren Grange ward is renamed as Hart ward; and West ward is renamed as Rural West ward. The Commission is also proposing a small boundary change to its draft recommendations in the south of the borough to accommodate an industrial estate – a change that doesn’t directly affect residents.

3. Full details of the Commission’s final recommendations (including maps) can be viewed at .

4. The electoral review off Hartlepool Borough Council is a separate undertaking from the current review of parliamentary constituency boundaries which is being carried out by a separate body (Boundary Commission for England) under different rules and legislation.