Share On:

Local electoral arrangements for Hambleton finalised

22nd March 2013

Local electoral arrangements for Hambleton finalised

25th March 2013

The independent Local Government Boundary Commission for England has published its final recommendations for new electoral arrangements for Hambleton District Council.

Today’s publication follows an eight-week public consultation on its draft proposals and draws new boundaries for each council ward across Hambleton.

The Commission’s final recommendations propose that Hambleton should be represented by 28 councillors in the future, 16 fewer than the current arrangements. The recommendations also propose that those councillors should represent two three-member wards, seven two-member wards and eight single-member wards across the district.

Max Caller, Chair of the Commission, said, “We are extremely grateful to the people of Hambleton who took the time and effort to send us their views. The Commission considered every piece of evidence it received before finalising these recommendations.

“Across the district, we have sought to balance the views expressed to us by local people with the criteria we must apply when we are deciding on new electoral arrangements. As such, we believe these recommendations deliver electoral equality for voters as well as reflecting the identities of communities across the district.”

In response to the views submitted to it during the consultation, the Commission proposes some changes to the recommendations it put forward last November. For example, in the north of the district, it now proposes to alter the three-member Stokesley ward which was put forward last year. Instead, the final recommendations are for a two-member Stokesley ward comprising the parishes of Great & Little Broughton, Kirkby and Stokesley. Alongside that ward, the Commission now proposes a single-member Hutton Rudby ward comprising the parishes of Crathorne, Hutton Rudby, Middleton-on-Leven, Seamer, Sexhow, Skutterskelfe, Newby and Rudby.

In the West of the district, the Commission also proposes to change the draft recommendations so that Burrill with Cowling parish should be part of Tanfield ward and that Burneston and Swainby with Allerthorpe parishes should be part of Bedale ward.

In response to the views put to it during consultation, the Commission also proposes to change the name of the proposed Cowtons ward to Appleton Wiske & Smeatons ward.

The proposed new arrangements must now be implemented by Parliament. A draft order – the legal document which brings into force the recommendations – will be laid in Parliament in the next few months. The draft Order provides for the new electoral arrangements to come into force at the district council elections in 2015.



For further information contact the Commission’s press office on: 0207 664 8530/8534

or email: [email protected]

Notes to editors:

1. The Local Government Boundary Commission for England is responsible for reviewing local authority electoral arrangements, e.g. defining boundaries for local elections and the number of councillors to be elected and – separately - for conducting reviews of local government external boundaries and structure.

2. Full details of the Commission’s final recommendations (including maps) can be viewed at /all-reviews/yorkshire-and-humberside/north-yorkshire/hambleton-fer Or at

3. The electoral review of Hambleton District Council is a separate undertaking from the review of parliamentary constituency boundaries which was carried out by a separate body (Boundary Commission for England) under different rules and legislation.