Share On:

Local electoral arrangements finalised for Wyre Forest District Council

14th October 2014
The independent Local Government Boundary Commission for England has published its final recommendations for new electoral arrangements for Wyre Forest District Council.

Today’s publication follows a ten-week public consultation on its draft proposals and draws new boundaries for each council ward across the district.

The Commission’s final recommendations propose that Wyre Forest should be represented by 33 councillors in the future, nine fewer than the current arrangements. The recommendations also propose that those councillors should represent 10 three-member wards, one two-member ward and one single-member ward across the district.

Max Caller, Chair of the Commission, said, “We are extremely grateful to people across Wyre Forest who took the time and effort to send us their views. The Commission considered every piece of evidence it received before finalising these recommendations.

“Across the district, we have sought to balance the views expressed to us by local people with the criteria we must apply when we are deciding on new electoral arrangements. As such, we believe these recommendations deliver electoral equality for voters as well as reflecting the identities of communities across Wyre Forest.”

In light of feedback received during the public consultation, the Commission proposes to alter parts of the recommendations it put forward in April. In particular, the Commission now proposes that the Lickhill area should form its own single-member ward. In its draft recommendations, Lickhill had been included as part of a larger ward with Wribbenhall and Kidderminster Foreign parish. The Commission believes that the new arrangement more closely reflects Lickhill’s ties with Stourport-on-Severn.

The Commission also now recommends a two-member Wribbenhall & Arley ward which will consist of the Wribbenhall part of Bewdley parish, Kidderminster Foreign parish and the parts of Upper Arley parish which lie to the east of the River Severn. This means that the Wyre Forest Rural ward will not extend into Upper Arley.

Elsewhere in the district, and in response to local feedback, the Commission proposes to make minor alterations to its recommendations to strengthen boundaries between wards as well as altering the names of some wards it had previously put forward for consultation.

The proposed new arrangements must now be implemented by Parliament. A draft order – the legal document which brings into force the recommendations – will be laid in Parliament in the coming months. The draft Order provides for the new electoral arrangements to come into force at the council elections in 2015.


For further information contact the Commission’s press office on: 0207 664 8530/8534 or email: [email protected]

Notes to editors:

  1. The Local Government Boundary Commission for England is responsible for reviewing local authority electoral arrangements, e.g. defining boundaries for local elections and the number of councillors to be elected and – separately - for conducting reviews of local government external boundaries and structure.
  1. Full details of the Commission’s final recommendations (including maps) can be viewed at /current-reviews/west-midlands/worcestershire/wyre-forest-fer or: