Share On:

Local electoral arrangements finalised for Warwick District Council

7th August 2018

The independent Local Government Boundary Commission for England has published its final recommendations for new electoral arrangements for Warwick District Council.


Warwick map


Illustrate your story with a map of the new ward boundaries. Find a high res image at:

Credit: contains Ordnance Survey data (c) Crown copyright and database rights 2018


Today’s publication follows three phases of public consultation and draws new boundaries for each council ward across Warwick.


All Warwick’s current council wards will change as a result of the review


The Commission’s final recommendations propose that Warwick should be represented by 44 district councillors in the future: two fewer than the current arrangement. The recommendations also propose that those councillors should represent eleven three-councillor wards, five two-councillor wards and one one-councillor ward across the district.


Professor Colin Mellors, Chair of the Commission, said, “We are extremely grateful to people across Warwick who took part in the review. The Commission has looked at all the evidence that was put forward during each stage of consultation.


“We believe these recommendations deliver electoral fairness for voters as well as reflecting community ties throughout Warwick.”


In response to local feedback during consultation, the Commission has changed the proposals it put forward in April. For example, local people and organisations objected to the Commission’s recommendations in Leamington Spa and argued that they divided the area of Lillington between Leamington Milverton ward and Leamington North ward. In response to the evidence presented to it, the Commission has changed its proposals so that the whole area is included in a renamed Leamington Lillington ward.


The Commission has also listened to arguments made by local parish councils that Old MIlverton & Blackdown Joint Parish Council should be included in wards with Leamington Spa rather than in a rural ward as previously proposed.


Elsewhere in the district, the Commission has made a minor change to its proposed boundary between Aylesford and Saltisford wards so the division between them is more identifiable. The Commission has also renamed its proposed Warwick Woodloes ward as Warwick All Saints & Woodloes ward.


Full details of the final recommendations and other changes to the draft proposals are available on the Commission’s website at


The proposed new arrangements must now be implemented by Parliament. A draft Order – the legal document which brings into force the recommendations – will be laid in Parliament in the coming months. The draft Order provides for the new electoral arrangements to come into force at the council elections in 2019.




For further information contact the Commission’s press office on: 0330 500 1525 / 1250 or email: [email protected]


Notes to editors:


  1. Key to map over page:


  1. Bishop’s Tachbrook
  2. Budbrooke
  3. Cubbington & Leek Wootton
  4. Kenilworth Abbey & Arden
  5. Kenilworth Park Hill
  6. Kenilworth St John's
  7. Leamington Brunswick
  8. Leamington Clarendon
  9. Leamington Lillington
  10. Leamington Milverton
  11. Leamington Willes
  12. Radford Semele
  13. Warwick All Saints & Woodloes
  14. Warwick Aylesford
  15. Warwick Myton & Heathcote
  16. Warwick Saltisford
  17. Whitnash


  1. The Local Government Boundary Commission for England is responsible for reviewing local authority electoral arrangements, e.g. defining boundaries for local elections and the number of councillors to be elected and – separately - for conducting reviews of local government external boundaries and structure.


  1. The electoral review of Warwick District Council is a separate undertaking from the review of parliamentary constituency boundaries which is being carried out by a separate body (Boundary Commission for England) under different rules and legislation.


  1. Full details of the Commission’s final recommendations (including maps) can be viewed at: