Share On:

Local electoral arrangements finalised for Warwick

22nd March 2013

Local electoral arrangements finalised for Warwick

25th March 2013

The independent Local Government Boundary Commission for England has published its final recommendations for new electoral arrangements for Warwick District Council.

Today’s publication follows an eleven-week public consultation on its draft proposals last year and draws new boundaries for each council ward across Warwick.

The Commission’s final recommendations propose that Warwick should be represented by 46 councillors in the future, the same as the current arrangements. The recommendations also propose that those councillors should represent four three-member wards, sixteen two-member wards and two single-member wards across the district.

Max Caller, Chair of the Commission, said, “We are extremely grateful to the people of Warwick who took the time and effort to send us their views. The Commission considered every piece of evidence it received before finalising these recommendations.

“Across the district, we have sought to balance the views expressed to us by local people with the criteria we must apply when we are deciding on new electoral arrangements. As such, we believe these recommendations deliver electoral equality for voters as well as reflecting the identities of communities across Warwick.”

In response to the views submitted to it during the consultation, the Commission proposes some changes to the draft recommendations it put forward last October. For example, the final recommendations propose to include a three-member Whitnash ward which would cover virtually the whole of that parish.

In Warwick town, the Commission listened carefully to the submissions made by local people and organisations and now propose that there should be a Heathcote & Myton ward which would include the Europa Way development with the Heathcote part of the Warwick Town Council area.In the Kenilworth area, the Commission was persuaded by the council’s evidence that the ward pattern should remain the same as the current arrangements. It has therefore changed its draft recommendations accordingly.

The final recommendations also mean that there should be a single-member Bishop’s Tachbrook ward to cover the parish.

The proposed new arrangements must now be implemented by Parliament. A draft order – the legal document which brings into force the recommendations – will be laid in Parliament in the next few months. The draft Order provides for the new electoral arrangements to come into force at the district council elections in 2015.


For further information contact the Commission’s press office on: 0207 664 8530/8534

or email: [email protected]

Notes to editors:

1. The Local Government Boundary Commission for England is responsible for reviewing local authority electoral arrangements, e.g. defining boundaries for local elections and the number of councillors to be elected and – separately - for conducting reviews of local government external boundaries and structure.

2. Full details of the Commission’s final recommendations (including maps) can be viewed at /all-reviews/west-midlands/warwickshire/warwick-fer

Or at

3. The electoral review of Warwick District Council is a separate undertaking from the review of parliamentary constituency boundaries which was carried out by a separate body (Boundary Commission for England) under different rules and legislation.