Share On:

Local electoral arrangements finalised for Tendring District Council

4th July 2017

The independent Local Government Boundary Commission for England has published its final recommendations for new electoral arrangements for Tendring District Council.


Today’s publication follows public consultation on its draft proposals earlier this year and draws new boundaries for each council ward across Tendring.


The Commission’s final recommendations propose that Tendring should be represented by 48 councillors in the future: twelve fewer than the current arrangement. The recommendations also propose that those councillors should represent two three-councillor wards, twelve two-councillor wards and eighteen one-councillor wards across the district.


Professor Colin Mellors, Chair of the Commission, said, “We are extremely grateful to people across Tendring who took part in the review. The Commission has looked at all the evidence that was put forward during the consultation.


“We believe these recommendations deliver electoral fairness for voters as well as reflecting community ties throughout Tendring.”


In response to local feedback during consultation, the Commission has made changes to some of its proposals.


In the west of the district, the Commission has moved away from its proposal for a three-councillor Ardleigh, Alresford & Elmstead ward in light of local feedback during consultation. Instead, the Commission’s final recommendations propose an Alresford & Elmstead ward to be represented by two councillors alongside an Ardleigh & Little Bromley ward to be represented by one councillor.


In the Clacton and St Osyth areas, the Commission received objections to its proposal for a large St Osyth & Little Clacton ward to be represented by three councillors. It has listened to those local views and has changed its proposals in favour of a Little Clacton ward to be represented by one councillor and a two-councillor St Osyth ward.  


Similarly, in Clacton, the Commission has also moved away from its proposed three-councillor Pier ward in favour of a Pier ward which would elect one councillor alongside a St James ward which will elect two councillors. Again, the Commission believes these changes provide a better reflection of local community ties.


Elsewhere in Clacton, the Commission has changed its proposal for a Southcliff ward to be represented by two councillors in favour of an Eastcliff ward next to a St Paul’s ward which will elect one district councillor each.


Full details of the final recommendations, and all the changes to the draft recommendations, are available on the Commission’s website at


The proposed new arrangements must now be implemented by Parliament. A draft Order – the legal document which brings into force the recommendations – will be laid in Parliament in the coming months. The draft Order provides for the new electoral arrangements to come into force at the council elections in 2019.




For further information contact the Commission’s press office on: 0330 500 1525 / 1250 or email: [email protected]


Notes to editors:


  1. The Local Government Boundary Commission for England is responsible for reviewing local authority electoral arrangements, e.g. defining boundaries for local elections and the number of councillors to be elected and – separately - for conducting reviews of local government external boundaries and structure.


  1. The electoral review of Tendring District Council is a separate undertaking from the review of parliamentary constituency boundaries which is being carried out by a separate body (Boundary Commission for England) under different rules and legislation.


  1. Full details of the Commission’s final recommendations (including maps) can be viewed at: /current-reviews/eastern/essex/tendring.