Share On:

Local electoral arrangements finalised for Telford and Wrekin

14th January 2014

Local electoral arrangements finalised for Telford and Wrekin

14th January 2014

The independent Local Government Boundary Commission for England has published its final recommendations for new electoral arrangements for Telford & Wrekin Council.

Today’s publication follows a twelve-week public consultation on its draft proposals and draws new boundaries for each council ward across the borough.

The Commission’s final recommendations propose that Telford & Wrekin should be represented by 54 councillors in the future, the same as the current arrangements. The recommendations also propose that those councillors should represent 12 single-member, 12 two-member and six three-member wards across the district.

Max Caller, Chair of the Commission, said, “We are extremely grateful to the people of Telford & Wrekin who took the time and effort to send us their views. The Commission considered every piece of evidence it received before finalising these recommendations.

“Across the borough, we have sought to balance the views expressed to us by local people with the criteria we must apply when we are deciding on new electoral arrangements. As such, we believe these recommendations deliver electoral equality for voters as well as reflecting the identities of communities across Telford & Wrekin.”

In its final recommendations, and in response to views submitted during consultation, the Commission proposes to alter its draft recommendations in a number of areas. For example, the final recommendations propose that the parishes of Eyton-upon-the-Weald-Moors and Preston-upon-the-Weald-Moors both be included in a two-member Edgmond & Ercall Magna ward.

The Commission has also decided to alter its draft recommendations so to include a single-member Admaston & Bratton ward covering the area of the same name.

The Commission received local representations during consultation which proposed that the McCormick Drive area shares closer community interests with the Shawbirch area than the Dothill ward area as put forward in the draft recommendations. As a result of those representations, the Commission has decided that around 120 electors in the McCormick Drive area should be part of the Shawbirch ward as part of the final recommendations.

In the St Georges part of the borough, the Commission has agreed to amend its recommendations so that the St Georges Sports club and Park Close area is part of the St Georges ward and not Priorslee ward as previously proposed.

Elsewhere in the borough, the Commission confirms its draft recommendations as final.

The proposed new arrangements must now be implemented by Parliament. A draft order – the legal document which brings into force the recommendations – will be laid in Parliament in the coming months. The draft Order provides for the new electoral arrangements to come into force at the council elections in 2015.

Ends For further information contact the Commission’s press office on: 0207 664 8530/8534 or email: [email protected]

Notes to editors:

1. The Local Government Boundary Commission for England is responsible for reviewing local authority electoral arrangements, e.g. defining boundaries for local elections and the number of councillors to be elected and – separately - for conducting reviews of local government external boundaries and structure.

2. Full details of the Commission’s final recommendations (including maps) can be viewed at /all-reviews/west-midlands/shropshire/telford-_and_-wrekin-fer