Share On:

Local electoral arrangements finalised for Southwark

19th July 2016

The independent Local Government Boundary Commission for England has published its final recommendations for new electoral arrangements for the London Borough of Southwark.

Today’s publication follows an eight-week public consultation on its draft proposals and draws new boundaries for each council ward across Southwark.

The Commission’s final recommendations propose that Southwark should be represented by 63 councillors in the future: the same as the current arrangement. The recommendations also propose that those councillors should represent 17 three-member wards and six two-member wards across the borough.

Professor Colin Mellors, Chair of the Commission, said, “We are extremely grateful to people across Southwark who took the time and effort to send us their views. The Commission considered every piece of evidence it received before finalising these recommendations.

“Across the borough, we have sought to balance the views expressed to us by local people with the criteria we must apply when we are deciding on new electoral arrangements. As such, we believe these recommendations deliver electoral equality for voters as well as reflecting the identities of communities in Southwark.”

In response to representations made to the Commission during consultation, the Commission has made changes to the draft proposals published in February. For example, in the south of the borough, the Commission has altered the proposal to divide the Dulwich Village area between wards. Instead, the final recommendations propose that the area should be part of a two-member Dulwich Village ward.

In the centre and north of the borough the Commission has made several smaller changes to the boundaries between wards. For example, the whole of Burgess Park will be included in Faraday ward rather than split between wards as previously proposed. The Commission has also amended the boundary between the wards of Camberwell Green and St Giles in order to keep all of the D’Eynsford estate in St Giles ward.

Elsewhere in the borough the Commission has made changes to the names of wards that were put forward in the draft recommendations as a result of submissions made by local people and organisations. As such, Bankside & Borough is renamed Borough & Bankside and South Walworth becomes Faraday. In addition, Bridges is amended to London Bridge & West Bermondsey, Nunhead becomes Nunhead & Queen’s Road, and St George is amended to St George’s.

Full details of the final recommendations are available on the Commission’s website at

The proposed new arrangements must now be implemented by Parliament. A draft order – the legal document which brings into force the recommendations – will be laid in Parliament in the coming months. The draft Order provides for the new electoral arrangements to come into force at the council elections in 2018.



For further information contact the Commission’s press office on: 0330 500 1250/1525 or email: [email protected]

Notes to editors:

  1. The Local Government Boundary Commission for England is responsible for reviewing local authority electoral arrangements, e.g. defining boundaries for local elections and the number of councillors to be elected and – separately - for conducting reviews of local government external boundaries and structure.
  2. Full details of the Commission’s final recommendations (including maps) can be viewed at:/current-reviews/greater-london/southwark.