Share On:

Local electoral arrangements finalised for Scarborough Borough Council

3rd April 2018

News Release


Local electoral arrangements finalised for Scarborough Borough Council


Embargoed until: 00.01, 3 April 2018


The independent Local Government Boundary Commission for England has published its final recommendations for new electoral arrangements for Scarborough Borough Council.

Scarborough Map


Illustrate your story with a map of the new ward boundaries. Find a high res image at:

Credit: contains Ordnance Survey data (c) Crown copyright and database rights 2018


Today’s publication follows public consultation on its draft proposals and draws new boundaries for each council ward across Scarborough.


All but four of Scarborough’s current wards will change as a result of the review.


The Commission’s final recommendations propose that Scarborough should be represented by 46 borough councillors in the future: four fewer than the current arrangement. The recommendations also propose that those councillors should represent eight three-councillor wards, ten two-councillor wards and two one-councillor wards across the borough.


Professor Colin Mellors, Chair of the Commission, said, “We are extremely grateful to people across Scarborough who took part in the review. The Commission has looked at all the evidence that was put forward during the consultation.


“We believe these recommendations deliver electoral fairness for voters as well as reflecting community ties throughout Scarborough.”


In response to local feedback during consultation, the Commission has made changes to some of the wards it put forward for consultation last October. For example, the Commission previously proposed that part of the parish of Osgodby should be included in the Weaponness & Ramshill ward. During the consultation, local people argued in favour of keeping the parish wholly within the Cayton ward. The Commission has listened to those views and now proposes that the whole of the parish of Osgodby should be part of Cayton ward.


Elsewhere in Scarborough, the Commission has made minor changes to its proposed ward boundaries and ward names to reflect local community views.


Full details of the final recommendations are available on the Commission’s website at


The proposed new arrangements must now be implemented by Parliament. A draft Order – the legal document which brings into force the recommendations – will be laid in Parliament in the coming months. The draft Order provides for the new electoral arrangements to come into force at the council elections in 2019.




For further information contact the Commission’s press office on: 0330 500 1525 / 1250 or email: [email protected]


Notes to editors:


  1. Key to map over page:


  1. Burniston and Cloughton
  2. Castle
  3. Cayton
  4. Danby & Mulgrave
  5. Derwent Valley & Moor
  6. Eastfield
  7. Esk Valley
  8. Falsgrave & Stepney
  9. Filey
  10. Fylingdales & Ravenscar
  11. Hunmanby
  12. Mayfield
  13. Newby
  14. Northstead
  15. Scalby
  16. Seamer
  17. Streonshalh
  18. Weaponness & Ramshill
  19. Whitby West Cliff
  20. Woodlands


  1. The Local Government Boundary Commission for England is responsible for reviewing local authority electoral arrangements, e.g. defining boundaries for local elections and the number of councillors to be elected and – separately - for conducting reviews of local government external boundaries and structure.


  1. The electoral review of Scarborough Borough Council is a separate undertaking from the review of parliamentary constituency boundaries which is being carried out by a separate body (Boundary Commission for England) under different rules and legislation.


  1. Full details of the Commission’s final recommendations (including maps) can be viewed at: