Share On:

Local electoral arrangements finalised for Rutland County Council

3rd April 2018

The independent Local Government Boundary Commission for England has published its final recommendations for new electoral arrangements for Rutland County Council. 

Ward map of Rutland


Illustrate your story with a map of the new ward boundaries. Find a high res image at:

Credit: contains Ordnance Survey data (c) Crown copyright and database rights 2018


Today’s publication follows public consultation on its draft proposals and draws new boundaries for each council ward across Rutland.


The Commission’s final recommendations propose that Rutland should be represented by 27 county councillors in the future: one more than the current arrangement. The recommendations also propose that those councillors should represent two three-councillor wards, eight two-councillor wards and five one-councillor wards across the county.


Professor Colin Mellors, Chair of the Commission, said, “We are extremely grateful to people across Rutland who took part in the review. The Commission has looked at all the evidence that was put forward during the consultation.


“We believe these recommendations deliver electoral fairness for voters as well as reflecting community ties throughout Rutland.”


In response to local feedback during consultation, the Commission has made changes to some of the wards it put forward for consultation last December. For example, in Oakham, local people and organisations argued that the parish of Barleythorpe and its community should form its own ward. In its draft recommendations, the Commission had proposed that the parish should be part of a larger Oakham North West ward. After listening to local representations, the Commission has changed its proposals for Oakham to create a Barleythorpe ward which will be represented by two councillors alongside an Oakham North West ward which will also be represented by two councillors.


In the south of Oakham, the Commission has also amended its recommendations so that Oakham South ward combines the existing Oakham South East and Oakham South West wards into a single, larger three-councillor ward. There will be two small modifications to the boundaries between Oakham South, Oakham North East and Oakham North West wards.


Full details of the final recommendations are available on the Commission’s website at


The proposed new arrangements must now be implemented by Parliament. A draft Order – the legal document which brings into force the recommendations – will be laid in Parliament in the coming months. The draft Order provides for the new electoral arrangements to come into force at the council elections in 2019.




For further information contact the Commission’s press office on: 0330 500 1525 / 1250 or email: [email protected]


Notes to editors:


  1. Key to map over page:

1          Barleythorpe

2          Braunston & Martinsthorpe

3          Cottesmore

4          Exton

5          Greetham

6          Ketton

7          Langham

8          Lyddington

9          Normanton

10        Oakham North East

11        Oakham North West

12        Oakham South

13        Ryhall & Casterton

14        Uppingham

15        Whissendine


  1. The Local Government Boundary Commission for England is responsible for reviewing local authority electoral arrangements, e.g. defining boundaries for local elections and the number of councillors to be elected and – separately - for conducting reviews of local government external boundaries and structure.


  1. The electoral review of Rutland County Council is a separate undertaking from the review of parliamentary constituency boundaries which is being carried out by a separate body (Boundary Commission for England) under different rules and legislation.


  1. Full details of the Commission’s final recommendations (including maps) can be viewed at: