Share On:

Local electoral arrangements finalised for Redcar and Cleveland

5th June 2018

The independent Local Government Boundary Commission for England has published its final recommendations for new electoral arrangements for Redcar and Cleveland Borough Council.


Redcar and Cleveland



Illustrate your story with a map of the new ward boundaries. Find a high res image at:

Credit: contains Ordnance Survey data (c) Crown copyright and database rights 2018


Today’s publication follows public consultation on its draft proposals and draws new boundaries for each council ward across Redcar and Cleveland.


The boundaries of all but two of Redcar and Cleveland’s current wards will change as a result of the review.


The Commission’s final recommendations propose that Redcar and Cleveland should be represented by 59 councillors in the future: the same as the current arrangement. The recommendations also propose that those councillors should represent 12 three-councillor wards, 11 two-councillor wards and one one-councillor wards across the borough.


Professor Colin Mellors, Chair of the Commission, said, “We are extremely grateful to people across Redcar and Cleveland who took part in the review. The Commission has looked at all the evidence that was put forward during the consultation.


“We believe these recommendations deliver electoral fairness for voters as well as reflecting community ties throughout Redcar and Cleveland.”


In response to local feedback during consultation, the Commission has made changes to some of the wards it put forward for consultation earlier this year. For example, in Redcar, the Commission has changed its proposals for Mickledales and West Dyke wards. During consultation, local people argued that properties around Aintree Road shared closer community ties with Borough Park, the Warwick Road area and Ings Farm Primary School which had been included in West Dyke ward. The Commission found the evidence persuasive and has changed its boundary proposals to reflect those views. It has also changed the name of the proposed Mickledales ward to Wheatlands ward.


In the west of the borough, and in response to local feedback, the Commission has also changed its recommendations so that the Hillside Academy and former Eston Park Academy area is included in Teesville ward rather than South Bank ward.


Elsewhere in Redcar and Cleveland, the Commission has made minor changes to its proposed ward boundaries to reflect local community views.


Full details of the final recommendations are available on the Commission’s website at


The proposed new arrangements must now be implemented by Parliament. A draft Order – the legal document which brings into force the recommendations – will be laid in Parliament in the coming months. The draft Order provides for the new electoral arrangements to come into force at the council elections in 2019.




For further information contact the Commission’s press office on: 0330 500 1525 / 1250 or email: [email protected]


Notes to editors:


  1. Key to the above map:


1          Belmont


2          Brotton


3          Coatham


4          Dormanstown


5          Eston


6          Grangetown


7          Guisborough


8          Hutton


9          Kirkleatham


10        Lockwood


11        Loftus


12        Longbeck


13        Newcomen


14        Normanby


15        Ormesby


16        Saltburn


17        Skelton East


18        Skelton West


19        South Bank


20        St Germain's


21        Teesville


22        West Dyke


23        Wheatlands


24        Zetland



  1. The Local Government Boundary Commission for England is responsible for reviewing local authority electoral arrangements, e.g. defining boundaries for local elections and the number of councillors to be elected and – separately - for conducting reviews of local government external boundaries and structure.


  1. The electoral review of Redcar and Cleveland Borough Council is a separate undertaking from the review of parliamentary constituency boundaries which is being carried out by a separate body (Boundary Commission for England) under different rules and legislation.


  1. Full details of the Commission’s final recommendations (including maps) can be viewed at: