Share On:

Local electoral arrangements finalised for Peterborough City Council

20th January 2015

The independent Local Government Boundary Commission for England has published its final recommendations for new electoral arrangements for Peterborough City Council.


Today’s publication follows a twelve-week public consultation on its draft proposals and draws new boundaries for each council ward across Peterborough.


The Commission’s final recommendations propose that Peterborough should be represented by 60 councillors in the future. The recommendations also propose that those councillors should represent 18 three-member wards, two two-member wards and two single-member wards across the city.


Max Caller, Chair of the Commission, said, “We are extremely grateful to people across Peterborough who took the time and effort to send us their views. The Commission considered every piece of evidence it received before finalising these recommendations.


“Across the city, we have sought to balance the views expressed to us by local people with the criteria we must apply when we are deciding on new electoral arrangements. As such, we believe these recommendations deliver electoral equality for voters as well as reflecting the identities of communities in Peterborough and surrounding areas.”


In response to representations made to it on the draft recommendations, the Commission has made changes to the draft proposals it originally put forward for consultation in July 2014.?In particular, amendments have been made to the configuration of wards in the western part of the city. For example, in place of the three-member Barnack ward it put forward as a draft recommendation, the Commission’s final recommendations propose a single-member Barnack ward which partially mirrors the current warding pattern in this part of Peterborough.


In addition, the final recommendations propose a two-member Glinton & Castor ward to include the parishes of Ailsworth, Castor, Marholm, Etton, Glinton, Peakirk, Northborough, Deeping Gate and Maxey. The recommendations also put forward a single-member Wittering ward in this part of Peterborough which includes the parishes of Wittering, Thornhaugh, Wansford, Sutton and Upton.


In the urban area of Peterborough, the Commission has changed its draft recommendations to create a two-member West ward which includes Longthorpe and South Bretton. The Commission believes the changes described above provide a better reflection of community interests in this part of Peterborough.


In the north of Peterborough, the Commission has also moved away from its draft recommendations in response to public feedback on the proposed boundary between Werrington and Gunthorpe wards. Specifically, the Commission has decided that the area surrounding The Green should be part of the proposed Werrington ward, and that Amberley Slope and Cissbury Ring should be part of Gunthorpe ward. The Commission has also proposed an amendment between the proposed Park and North wards.


The proposed new arrangements must now be implemented by Parliament. A draft order – the legal document which brings into force the recommendations – will be laid in Parliament in the coming months. The draft Order provides for the new electoral arrangements to come into force at the council elections in 2016.




For further information contact the Commission’s press office on: 0207 664 8530/8534 or email: [email protected]


Notes to editors:


  1. The Local Government Boundary Commission for England is responsible for reviewing local authority electoral arrangements, e.g. defining boundaries for local elections and the number of councillors to be elected and – separately - for conducting reviews of local government external boundaries and structure.


  1. Full details of the Commission’s final recommendations (including maps) can be viewed at: /current-reviews/eastern/cambridgeshire/peterborough-fer