Share On:

Local electoral arrangements finalised for Nottinghamshire County Council

17th November 2015
The independent Local Government Boundary Commission for England has published its final recommendations for new electoral arrangements for Nottinghamshire County Council.

Today’s publication follows a nine-week public consultation on its draft proposals and draws new boundaries for each county electoral division across Nottinghamshire.

The Commission’s final recommendations propose that Nottinghamshire should be represented by 66 county councillors in the future: one fewer than the current arrangement. The recommendations also propose that those councillors should represent 46 single-member electoral divisions and ten two-member electoral divisions across the county.

Max Caller, Chair of the Commission, said, “We are extremely grateful to people across Nottinghamshire who took the time and effort to send us their views. The Commission considered every piece of evidence it received before finalising these recommendations.

“Across the county, we have sought to balance the views expressed to us by local people with the criteria we must apply when we are deciding on new electoral arrangements. As such, we believe these recommendations deliver electoral equality for voters as well as reflecting the identities of communities in Nottinghamshire.”

In response to representations made to it on the draft recommendations, the Commission has made changes to the draft proposals it originally put forward for consultation in June. For example, in Bassetlaw district, the Commission has altered its recommendations in light of local submissions that argued for Beckingham and Saundby parishes to be part of the Misterton division rather than the Tuxford division as previously proposed. As part of the Commission’s final recommendations, both parishes have therefore been included in the Misterton electoral division.

In Broxtowe, the Commission’s draft recommendations had proposed to divide the parish of Eastwood between county electoral divisions. However, in response to local representations, the Commission now proposes that the whole parish should be included in its own Eastwood division. Brinsley, which had been included in the Eastwood division will now form part of a Greasley & Brinsley division.

In Newark and Sherwood district, the Commission has also made changes to its recommendations as a result of evidence presented by local people and groups. The Commission heard evidence of strong community links between Upton parish and Oxton parish with the Southwell area. The Commission has therefore included both parishes in the Southwell division.

The Commission has also responded positively to representations made that Coddington parish should be part of the Collingham division. The Commission had previously included the parish in the Newark East division but, in light of the evidence received, believes its inclusion with the Collingham division represents a better reflection of local community ties.

In Rushcliffe borough, the Commission responded positively to representations that argued that Shelford parish has stronger community links with Radcliffe on Trent than Bingham as previously proposed. The Commission has therefore altered the boundaries of its Bingham West division and Radcliffe on Trent division to incorporate the change.

The Commission also received objections to its draft recommendations for the configuration of its Ruddington division and its Soar Valley division. Respondents argued that the Ruddington division included parishes which traditionally share ties with other parishes in the Soar Valley area. To avoid dividing areas that share a community identity, the Commission therefore proposes a two-member Leake & Ruddington division to avoid creating an arbitrary split between the parishes.

Elsewhere in the county, the Commission has made minor changes to its draft recommendations in response to local feedback as well as confirming the remainder of its draft recommendations as final.

Full details of the final recommendations are available on the Commission’s website at

The proposed new arrangements must now be implemented by Parliament. A draft order – the legal document which brings into force the recommendations – will be laid in Parliament in the coming months. The draft Order provides for the new electoral arrangements to come into force at the county council elections in 2017.


For further information contact the Commission’s press office on: 0330 500 1250 / 1525 or email: [email protected]

Notes to editors:

  1. The Local Government Boundary Commission for England is responsible for reviewing local authority electoral arrangements, e.g. defining boundaries for local elections and the number of councillors to be elected and – separately - for conducting reviews of local government external boundaries and structure.
  2. Full details of the Commission’s final recommendations (including maps) can be viewed at: /current-reviews/east-midlands/nottinghamshire/nottinghamshire-county-council