Share On:

Local electoral arrangements finalised for North West Leicestershire District Council

24th February 2014

Local electoral arrangements finalised for North West Leicestershire District Council

25th February 2014

The independent Local Government Boundary Commission for England has published its final recommendations for new electoral arrangements for North West Leicestershire District Council.

Today’s publication follows a ten-week public consultation on its draft proposals and draws new boundaries for each council ward across the district.

The Commission’s final recommendations propose that North West Leicestershire should be represented by 38 councillors in the future, the same as the current arrangements. The recommendations also propose that those councillors should represent 38 single-member wards across the district.

Max Caller, Chair of the Commission, said, “We are extremely grateful to the people of North West Leicestershire who took the time and effort to send us their views. The Commission considered every piece of evidence it received before finalising these recommendations.

“Across the district, we have sought to balance the views expressed to us by local people with the criteria we must apply when we are deciding on new electoral arrangements. As such, we believe these recommendations deliver electoral equality for voters as well as reflecting the identities of communities across North West Leicestershire.”

In its final recommendations, and in response to views submitted during consultation, the Commission proposes to make some amendments to the recommendations it published in September 2013. For example, the Commission has made amendments to the boundaries between Ashby Castle, Ashby Money Hill and Ashby Willesley wards. The changes to the draft recommendations are designed to strengthen boundaries and reflect issues of access for the area of development to the west of Leicester Road. In addition, the Commission proposes minor boundary amendments to the Measham North and Blackfordby wards to strengthen ward boundaries.

The Commission has also listened to feedback from its public consultation and now proposes to alter the names of 12 of the wards it put forward as part of its draft recommendations. As such, the proposed Donington Castle, Donington Central and Donington Park wards become Castle Donington Castle, Castle Donington Central and Castle Donington Park. Elsewhere in the district, the proposed Langley ward is renamed Worthington & Breedon ward, Conkers ward becomes Ashby Woulds ward, Redbank ward becomes Measham South ward, Measham Fields ward becomes Measham North ward, Market ward becomes Hermitage ward, Hugglescote ward becomes Hugglescote St John’s ward, Snibston becomes Hugglescote St Mary’s ward, Discovery ward becomes Snibston North ward and Belvoir ward is re-named Snibston South ward.

In other parts of the district, the Commission has confirmed its draft recommendations for new ward boundaries and ward names as final.

The proposed new arrangements must now be implemented by Parliament. A draft order – the legal document which brings into force the recommendations – will be laid in Parliament in the coming months. The draft Order provides for the new electoral arrangements to come into force at the council elections in 2015.


For further information contact the Commission’s press office on: 0207 664 8530/8534 or email: [email protected]

Notes to editors:

1. The Local Government Boundary Commission for England is responsible for reviewing local authority electoral arrangements, e.g. defining boundaries for local elections and the number of councillors to be elected and – separately - for conducting reviews of local government external boundaries and structure.

2. The Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009 allows local authorities to ask the Commission to carry out an electoral review with the aim of providing single-member wards across the whole authority. The council asked the Commission to carry out the review with a view to delivering single-member wards across North West Leicestershire district.

3. Full details of the Commission’s final recommendations (including maps) can be viewed at /all-reviews/east-midlands/leicestershire/north-west-leicestershire-fer or at