Share On:

Local electoral arrangements finalised for North Devon District Council

8th May 2018

News Release


Local electoral arrangements finalised for North Devon District Council


Embargoed until: 00.01, 8 May 2018


The independent Local Government Boundary Commission for England has published its final recommendations for new electoral arrangements for North Devon District Council.


Summary Map


Illustrate your story with a map of the new ward boundaries. Find a high res image at:

Credit: contains Ordnance Survey data (c) Crown copyright and database rights 2018


Today’s publication follows a public consultation on its draft proposals and draws new boundaries for each council ward across North Devon.


The Commission’s final recommendations propose that North Devon should be represented by 42 district councillors in the future:  one fewer than the current arrangement. The recommendations also propose that those councillors should represent five three-councillor wards, seven two-councillor wards and thirteen one-councillor wards across the district.


Professor Colin Mellors, Chair of the Commission, said, “We are extremely grateful to people across North Devon who took part in the review. The Commission has looked at all the evidence that was put forward during the consultation.


“We believe these recommendations deliver electoral fairness for voters as well as reflecting community ties throughout North Devon.”


In response to local feedback during consultation, the Commission has changed some of the proposals it put forward in December 2017. For example, in Braunton, the Commission has accepted the case put locally that the town should divided east to west rather than north to south as previously proposed. The Commission has also changed its recommendations so that they include a separate ward for Heanton Punchardon. The Braunton East ward would combine the eastern part of the built-up area of Braunton and Knowle village. The Braunton West & Georgeham ward would comprise the remaining part of Braunton parish with the whole of Georgeham parish.


In the north of the district, local submissions argued that Trentishoe parish should be part of Lynton & Lynmouth rather than Bratton Fleming ward as previously proposed. The Commission agreed that the change would better reflect local community identities.


The Commission also received evidence during consultation that Combe Martin parish should form a ward of its own. Combe Martin had been included as part of a larger ward with Marwood under the draft recommendations. The Commission has listened to local feedback and now proposes that a Combe Martin ward that covers the whole parish should be created to be represented by one councillor.


In the south of the district, the Commission was persuaded by local submissions to amend its draft recommendations to remove the parishes of George Nympton and Queens Nympton from the proposed South Molton ward. We were persuaded by the evidence received that these parishes shared closer community ties with a Bishop’s Nympton ward. Other evidence in this part of the district opposed the Commission’s proposal to create a two-councillor Bishop’s Nympton & Witheridge ward, arguing that the area should be divided into two one-councillor wards. The Commission has listened to the views put to it and now proposes the two-ward option, namely a Bishop’s Nympton ward and a separate Witheridge ward.


Full details of the final recommendations are available on the Commission’s website at


The proposed new arrangements must now be implemented by Parliament. A draft Order – the legal document which brings into force the recommendations – will be laid in Parliament in the coming months. The draft Order provides for the new electoral arrangements to come into force at the council elections in 2019.




For further information contact the Commission’s press office on: 0330 500 1525 / 1250 or email: [email protected]


Notes to editors:


  1. Key to map over page:


1          Barnstaple Central

2          Barnstaple with Pilton

3          Barnstaple with Westacott

4          Bickington

5          Bishops Nympton

6          Bratton Fleming

7          Braunton East

8          Braunton West & Georgeham

9          Chittlehampton

10        Chumleigh

11        Combe Martin

12        Fremington

13        Heanton Punchardon

14        Ilfracombe East

15        Ilfracombe West

16        Instow

17        Landkey

18        Lynton & Lynmouth

19        Marwood

20        Mortehoe

21        Newport

22        North Molton

23        Roundswell

24        South Molton

25        Witheridge


  1. The Local Government Boundary Commission for England is responsible for reviewing local authority electoral arrangements, e.g. defining boundaries for local elections and the number of councillors to be elected and – separately - for conducting reviews of local government external boundaries and structure.


  1. The electoral review of North Devon District Council is a separate undertaking from the review of parliamentary constituency boundaries which is being carried out by a separate body (Boundary Commission for England) under different rules and legislation.


  1. Full details of the Commission’s final recommendations (including maps) can be viewed at: