Share On:

Local electoral arrangements finalised for Mid Suffolk District Council

7th August 2018

The independent Local Government Boundary Commission for England has published its final recommendations for new electoral arrangements for Mid Suffolk District Council.


Summary map


Illustrate your story with a map of the new ward boundaries. Find a high res image at:

Credit: contains Ordnance Survey data (c) Crown copyright and database rights 2018


Today’s publication follows three phases of public consultation and draws new boundaries for each council ward across Mid Suffolk.


All Mid Suffolk’s current council wards will change as a result of the review


The Commission’s final recommendations propose that Mid Suffolk should be represented by 34 district councillors in the future: six fewer than the current arrangement. The recommendations also propose that those councillors should represent eight two-councillor wards and eighteen one-councillor wards across the district.


Professor Colin Mellors, Chair of the Commission, said, “We are extremely grateful to people across Mid Suffolk who took part in the review. The Commission has looked at all the evidence that was put forward during each stage of consultation.


“We believe these recommendations deliver electoral fairness for voters as well as reflecting community ties throughout Mid Suffolk.”


In response to local feedback during consultation, the Commission has changed the proposals it put forward in March. In the north of the district, the Commission has decided to include the parish of Redlingfield in Eye ward rather than Hoxne & Worlingworth ward as previously proposed. The parish argued that the area shared close community ties with Athelington, Horham, Eye and Occold. The Commission has listened to local views and changed the proposed boundaries.


Full details of the final recommendations and other changes to the draft proposals are available on the Commission’s website at


The proposed new arrangements must now be implemented by Parliament. A draft Order – the legal document which brings into force the recommendations – will be laid in Parliament in the coming months. The draft Order provides for the new electoral arrangements to come into force at the council elections in 2019.




For further information contact the Commission’s press office on: 0330 500 1525 / 1250 or email: [email protected]


Notes to editors:


  1. Key to map over page:


1.    Bacton

2.    Battisford & Ringshall

3.    Blakenham

4.    Bramford

5.    Chilton

6.    Claydon & Barham

7.    Combs Ford

8.    Debenham

9.    Elmswell & Woolpit

10. Eye

11. Fressingfield

12. Gislingham

13. Haughley, Stowupland & Wetherden

14. Hoxne & Worlingworth

15. Mendlesham

16. Needham Market

17. Onehouse

18. Palgrave

19. Rattlesden

20. Rickinghall

21. St Peter's

22. Stonham

23. Stow Thorney

24. Stradbroke & Laxfield

25. Thurston

26. Walsham-le-Willows



  1. The Local Government Boundary Commission for England is responsible for reviewing local authority electoral arrangements, e.g. defining boundaries for local elections and the number of councillors to be elected and – separately - for conducting reviews of local government external boundaries and structure.


  1. The electoral review of Mid Suffolk District Council is a separate undertaking from the review of parliamentary constituency boundaries which is being carried out by a separate body (Boundary Commission for England) under different rules and legislation.


  1. Full details of the Commission’s final recommendations (including maps) can be viewed at: