Share On:

Local electoral arrangements finalised for King’s Lynn and West Norfolk Borough Council

3rd April 2018

The independent Local Government Boundary Commission for England has published its final recommendations for new electoral arrangements for King’s Lynn and West Norfolk Borough Council.


Summary map of King's Lynn and West Norfolk


Illustrate your story with a map of the new ward boundaries. Find a high res image at:'s%20Lynn%20and%20West%20Norfolk/Final%20Recs/Kings%20Lynn%20FR%20Summary.jpg


Credit: contains Ordnance Survey data (c) Crown copyright and database rights 2018


Today’s publication follows public consultation on its draft proposals and draws new boundaries for each council ward across King’s Lynn and West Norfolk.


All but four of King’s Lynn and West Norfolk’s current wards will change as a result of the review.


The Commission’s final recommendations propose that King’s Lynn and West Norfolk should be represented by 55 borough councillors in the future: seven fewer than the current arrangement. The recommendations also propose that those councillors should represent two three-councillor wards, sixteen two-councillor wards and seventeen one-councillor wards across the borough.


Professor Colin Mellors, Chair of the Commission, said, “We are extremely grateful to people across King’s Lynn and West Norfolk who took part in the review. The Commission has looked at all the evidence that was put forward during the consultation.


“We believe these recommendations deliver electoral fairness for voters as well as reflecting community ties throughout King’s Lynn and West Norfolk.”


In response to local feedback during consultation, the Commission has made changes to some of the wards it put forward for consultation last October. For example, the Commission had included the parish of Sandringham in an urban ward with the Wootton parishes. Following local representations about local community ties in that part of the borough, the Commission has changed its proposals so that Sandringham forms part of the Dersingham ward.


Elsewhere in the borough, the Commission has listened to local feedback and has changed some of the ward names it previously put forward. As such, the proposed Tilney & Wiggenhall ward will be called Tilney, Mershe Lande & Wiggenhall ward and Emneth with Outwell ward will be known as Emneth & Outwell ward.


Full details of the final recommendations are available on the Commission’s website at


The proposed new arrangements must now be implemented by Parliament. A draft Order – the legal document which brings into force the recommendations – will be laid in Parliament in the coming months. The draft Order provides for the new electoral arrangements to come into force at the council elections in 2019.




For further information contact the Commission’s press office on: 0330 500 1525 / 1250 or email: [email protected]


Notes to editors:


  1. Key to map over page:


1.         Airfield

2.         Bircham with Rudhams

3.         Brancaster

4.         Burnham Market & Docking

5.         Clenchwarton

6.         Denver

7.         Dersingham

8.         Downham Old Town

9.         East Downham

10.       Emneth & Outwell

11.       Fairstead

12.       Feltwell

13.       Gayton & Grimston

14.       Gaywood Chase

15.       Gaywood Clock

16.       Gaywood North Bank

17.       Heacham

18.       Hunstanton

19.       Massingham with Castle Acre

20.       Methwold

21.       North Downham

22.       North Lynn

23.       Snettisham

24.       South & West Lynn

25.       South Downham

26.       Springwood

27.       St Margaret’s with St Nicholas

28.       Terrington

29.       The Woottons

30.       Tilney, Mershe Lande & Wiggenhall

31.       Upwell & Delph

32.       Walsoken, West Walton & Walpole

33.       Watlington

34.       West Winch

35.       Wissey


  1. The Local Government Boundary Commission for England is responsible for reviewing local authority electoral arrangements, e.g. defining boundaries for local elections and the number of councillors to be elected and – separately - for conducting reviews of local government external boundaries and structure.


  1. The electoral review of King’s Lynn and West Norfolk Borough Council is a separate undertaking from the review of parliamentary constituency boundaries which is being carried out by a separate body (Boundary Commission for England) under different rules and legislation.


  1. Full details of the Commission’s final recommendations (including maps) can be viewed at: