Share On:

Local electoral arrangements finalised for Kensington & Chelsea

23rd September 2013

Local electoral arrangements finalised for Kensington & Chelsea

24th September 2013

The independent Local Government Boundary Commission for England has published its final recommendations for new electoral arrangements for the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea.

Today’s publication follows a twelve-week public consultation on its draft proposals and draws new boundaries for each council ward across the borough.

The Commission’s final recommendations propose that Kensington and Chelsea should be represented by 50 councillors in the future, four fewer than the current arrangements. The recommendations also propose that those councillors should represent 14 three-member wards and four two-member wards across the borough.

Max Caller, Chair of the Commission, said, “We are extremely grateful to the people of Kensington and Chelsea who took the time and effort to send us their views. The Commission considered every piece of evidence it received before finalising these recommendations.

“Across the borough, we have sought to balance the views expressed to us by local people with the criteria we must apply when we are deciding on new electoral arrangements. As such, we believe these recommendations deliver electoral equality for voters as well as reflecting the identities of communities across Kensington and Chelsea.”

In response to the views submitted during the consultation, the Commission proposes some changes to the draft recommendations it put forward in March.

The Commission’s final recommendations propose that the museums and streets to the north of Cromwell Road should be part of the Hans Town ward rather than Queen’s Gate as originally suggested in the draft plans. In addition, the final recommendations ensure that the whole of Onslow Square is included within Courtfield ward where it had been divided between wards. Finally, and in response to submissions made to it, the Commission proposes that St Charles ward should be called St Helens and that Hans Town ward should be called Brompton & Hans Town in recognition of the strong evidence of community identity for the Brompton area.

The proposed new arrangements must now be implemented by Parliament. A draft order – the legal document which brings into force the recommendations – will be laid in Parliament in the next few months. The draft Order provides for the new electoral arrangements to come into force at the council elections in 2014.


For further information contact the Commission’s press office on: 0207 664 8530/8534 or email: [email protected]

Notes to editors:

1. The Local Government Boundary Commission for England is responsible for reviewing local authority electoral arrangements, e.g. defining boundaries for local elections and the number of councillors to be elected and – separately - for conducting reviews of local government external boundaries and structure.

2. Full details of the Commission’s final recommendations (including maps) can be viewed at /all-reviews/south-east/greater-london/kensington-and-chelsea-fer or at