Share On:

Local electoral arrangements finalised for East Sussex County and District Councils

27th September 2016

The independent Local Government Boundary Commission for England has published its final recommendations for new electoral arrangements for East Sussex County Council and the county’s five district and borough councils.


Today’s publication follows a public consultation on its draft proposals earlier this year and draws new boundaries for each county electoral division and district or borough ward across East Sussex.


The Commission’s final recommendations propose that East Sussex should be represented by 50 county councillors in the future: one more than the current arrangement. The recommendations also propose that Wealden District Council should have 45 councillors in future: ten fewer than the current arrangements. For all the other councils in East Sussex – Eastbourne, Hastings, Lewes and Rother – the Commission proposes to retain the current number of district or borough councillors.


The new boundaries mean that, for each local authority area, councillors will represent roughly the same number of voters and wards or electoral divisions will reflect the shape of local communities.


Professor Colin Mellors, Chair of the Commission, said, “We are extremely grateful to people across East Sussex who took the time and effort to send us their views. The Commission considered every piece of evidence it received before finalising these recommendations.


“Across the county, we have sought to balance the views expressed to us by local people with the criteria we must apply when we are deciding on new electoral arrangements. As such, we believe these recommendations deliver electoral equality for voters as well as reflecting the identities of communities in East Sussex.”


Full details and maps of the final recommendations are available on the Commission’s website at


The proposed new arrangements must now be implemented by Parliament. A draft order – the legal document which brings into force the recommendations – will be laid in Parliament in the coming months. If both Houses are satisfied with the recommendations, the draft order will be ‘made’ and the new boundaries will come into effect at the next local elections, namely in 2017 for East Sussex County Council; 2018 for Hastings Borough Council; and 2019 for Eastbourne Borough Council, Lewes District Council, Rother District Council and Wealden District Council.




For further information contact the Commission’s press office on: 0330 500 1250 / 1525 or email: [email protected]


Notes to editors:


  1. The Local Government Boundary Commission for England is responsible for reviewing local authority electoral arrangements, e.g. defining boundaries for local elections and the number of councillors to be elected and – separately - for conducting reviews of local government external boundaries and structure.


2.    The review has only considered council ward and division boundaries. It is a separate undertaking from the review of parliamentary constituency boundaries which is led by a different organisation, under unrelated rules and on a different timetable.


  1. Full details of the Commission’s final recommendations (including maps) can be viewed at:


East Sussex County Council – /current-reviews/south-east/east-sussex/east-sussex-county-council


Eastbourne Borough Council – /current-reviews/south-east/east-sussex/eastbourne


Lewes District Council – /current-reviews/south-east/east-sussex/lewes


Hastings Borough Council – /current-reviews/south-east/east-sussex/hastings


Rother District Council – /current-reviews/south-east/east-sussex/rother


Wealden District Council - /current-reviews/south-east/east-sussex/wealden